Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Official E-Maxx Thread

Old 09-03-2008, 02:00 AM
  #826  
JustForKicks
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnut, CA
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread


ORIGINAL: Wheelnut

justforkicks,
Sounds like radio interferience. Go to another location, atleast 1/2mi from where you are and try it again.

AVIV, sounds like a bad esc, but I am not sure. WHat stuff are you running?
So it will run perfectly fine for about 10 minutes and then start twitching if I'm in an area that could have radio interference? I run the maxx in two different locations. about 35 to 40 miles apart from each other and it happens at both locations. How likely is it that it is the ESC or the motors?
JustForKicks is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 06:46 AM
  #827  
ratpower396
Senior Member
 
ratpower396's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South river, NJ
Posts: 776
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

aviv123 you need the castle link hardware to adjust the bec voltage..
ratpower396 is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 06:55 AM
  #828  
AVIV123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: K ATA, ISRAEL
Posts: 200
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread


ORIGINAL: ratpower396

aviv123 you need the castle link hardware to adjust the bec voltage..
bat shold i bay castle link for 1 time itis 24$+11$ shipping
AVIV123 is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 07:56 AM
  #829  
Wheelnut
My Feedback: (81)
 
Wheelnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 7,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread


ORIGINAL: ratpower396

aviv123 you need the castle link hardware to adjust the bec voltage..
cool, I did not know you could adjust the voltage in the CC BEC with the CC USB Hardware. I have always adjusted my esc's that way, but very cool to learn I can adjust the BEC that way also.
Wheelnut is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 07:57 AM
  #830  
Wheelnut
My Feedback: (81)
 
Wheelnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 7,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread


ORIGINAL: JustForKicks


ORIGINAL: Wheelnut

justforkicks,
Sounds like radio interferience. Go to another location, atleast 1/2mi from where you are and try it again.

AVIV, sounds like a bad esc, but I am not sure. WHat stuff are you running?
So it will run perfectly fine for about 10 minutes and then start twitching if I'm in an area that could have radio interference? I run the maxx in two different locations. about 35 to 40 miles apart from each other and it happens at both locations. How likely is it that it is the ESC or the motors?
Well, I doubt seriously it could be the motors. But it very well could be the esc. What radio are you running?
Wheelnut is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 08:08 AM
  #831  
Wheelnut
My Feedback: (81)
 
Wheelnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 7,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

I finally received all my steel gears for my transmission. I will be putting it back together soon so I can start doing some test runs on my Fastlane chassis with upgraded CVD's.
After about 2 and a half weeks, I heard back from Fastlane's tech support. Very nice guy, just took him a little to long to get back to me. I found the antenna mount. It was hiding under my huge 970 motors. So I will have to relocate it. Fortunately there are a couple of small holes that can be tapped out to fit the 4mm thread of the antenna mount that comes with it. I think he said the holes were there for optional ways of mounting things.
Wheelnut is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 09:30 AM
  #832  
JustForKicks
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnut, CA
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread


ORIGINAL: Wheelnut


ORIGINAL: JustForKicks


ORIGINAL: Wheelnut

justforkicks,
Sounds like radio interferience. Go to another location, atleast 1/2mi from where you are and try it again.

AVIV, sounds like a bad esc, but I am not sure. WHat stuff are you running?
So it will run perfectly fine for about 10 minutes and then start twitching if I'm in an area that could have radio interference? I run the maxx in two different locations. about 35 to 40 miles apart from each other and it happens at both locations. How likely is it that it is the ESC or the motors?
Well, I doubt seriously it could be the motors. But it very well could be the esc. What radio are you running?
I'm using the radio that came with the truck. I haven't upgraded any of the electronics.
JustForKicks is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 11:25 AM
  #833  
Wheelnut
My Feedback: (81)
 
Wheelnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 7,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

I have owned 4 Traxxas vehicles and one Traxxas boat that uses the same radio and I have never had any problems with them. So I am guessing your problem lies in the esc.
Wheelnut is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 04:08 PM
  #834  
RUSTED
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

hey ,

i want to upgrade the stock knuckles on my emaxx 16.8 , should i get the rpm ones , or integy ???
RUSTED is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 05:27 PM
  #835  
Jailbird1818
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

Get the RPM, Integy stuff is junk.

-JB
Jailbird1818 is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 09:00 PM
  #836  
Wheelnut
My Feedback: (81)
 
Wheelnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 7,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread


ORIGINAL: RUSTED

hey ,

i want to upgrade the stock knuckles on my emaxx 16.8 , should i get the rpm ones , or integy ???
RPM, it's lighter and comes with a guarantee. I have them and they are very strong.
Wheelnut is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 06:58 AM
  #837  
ratpower396
Senior Member
 
ratpower396's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South river, NJ
Posts: 776
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

aviv if you have the paperwork for the ccbec it will tell you about the castle link..If you dont have it you are going to have to buy it so you can adjust the voltage..Glad to help
ratpower396 is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:06 PM
  #838  
AVIV123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: K ATA, ISRAEL
Posts: 200
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

MOVE
AVIV123 is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 11:19 AM
  #839  
AVIV123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: K ATA, ISRAEL
Posts: 200
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

NEW ONE AND BETTER
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CRaalJ2wAY
AVIV123 is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 01:33 PM
  #840  
Wheelnut
My Feedback: (81)
 
Wheelnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 7,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

That is very nice. Good song too. Not that I understood it. It was just good music. You must be proud of that truck.
Now you just need a chassis like this
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51027.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	148.8 KB
ID:	1026742   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt60718.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	177.7 KB
ID:	1026743  
Wheelnut is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 09:52 PM
  #841  
Wheelnut
My Feedback: (81)
 
Wheelnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 7,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

Bad news.
The steel gears I was waiting on, do not fit my E-Maxx 3906. They are for the 3905.
Does anyone know of any after market steel gears for the E-Maxx 3906 transmission???
Wheelnut is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 05:05 PM
  #842  
Wheelnut
My Feedback: (81)
 
Wheelnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 7,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

Good news. Dan with Kershaw designs has the gears I need and they are on their way
Wheelnut is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 04:42 AM
  #843  
RUSTED
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

hey ,

im planning on running my emaxx on 3s lipo , butim not sure wat motor to get that will stay cool and give me a speed of 35- 40 mph , and the gearings i have r 20 , 24 t pinion and 62 65 68 spur , i used the speed calculator and the motorthat will give me a speed of 35- 40+mph is the feigao 6xl and the 9l which motor will run cooler on 3s?
RUSTED is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 05:07 AM
  #844  
AVIV123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: K ATA, ISRAEL
Posts: 200
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

i dont know about the 9l bat the 6xl will get hot !very hot!!!
AVIV123 is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 05:44 AM
  #845  
RUSTED
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

wat motor do u advise me to get if ill be running on 3s lipo?
RUSTED is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 05:54 AM
  #846  
AVIV123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: K ATA, ISRAEL
Posts: 200
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

7xl
AVIV123 is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 06:44 AM
  #847  
RUSTED
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

ok , thanks , ill give that a try
RUSTED is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 12:38 PM
  #848  
AVIV123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: K ATA, ISRAEL
Posts: 200
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

I LOOK IN FEIGAO WEB AND SEE THAT
all of our brushless motors are work fine with 150c.

http://www.feigao.com/

IST 150 Celsius????
AVIV123 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 08:27 AM
  #849  
ratpower396
Senior Member
 
ratpower396's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South river, NJ
Posts: 776
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread

watch with feigao motor the newer ones have an endbell that has dimples to hold it tight the older motors dont so they sometimes came apart at the endbell..
ratpower396 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 10:35 AM
  #850  
Lilredmachine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shanklin, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,929
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official E-Maxx Thread


ORIGINAL: Wheelnut

I have owned 4 Traxxas vehicles and one Traxxas boat that uses the same radio and I have never had any problems with them. So I am guessing your problem lies in the esc.
Correct, the ESC is running hot and bouncing off the thermal failsafe. This would explain why it works fine for ten minutes then begins twitching. As it heats up it hits the failsafe and it cuts power, causing the jittering. I suggest you use a fan or something to keep it cool.
Lilredmachine is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.