Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

RC car = 'motor vehicle'?

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2007, 04:29 PM
Access

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC car = 'motor vehicle'?

I have an obscure question I cannot seem to find an answer to. Does an electric RC car or truck from a legal standpoint qualify as a 'motor vehicle' and likewise does the person using the receiver qualify as an 'operator'? For instance:

1) If an area has signage that prohibits the operation of 'off-road motor vehicle' does it refer to RC cars or just off-road vehicles designed to carry a passenger?

2) If you are drunk, or have a blood-alcohol level above the legal driving limit (0.08 in our state), is it legal to operate a RC car?

And so on.
I have to ask b'cos when we bash and sometimes even racing we see traffic cop pull up and observe us as if though he's looking for trouble. He's never stuck around too long, but then, we've never done much when he's around.

I know they don't like the plane people in the same area but no one has ever asked us to stop our cars and we never run them close to or in the presence of others and never on private property.
Old 02-07-2007, 04:44 PM
mdh1979

Default RE: RC car = 'motor vehicle'?

1) I would think that if you were operating your rc whatever where "no motor vehicles" was posted and you were using it in an unsafe manor, especially if pedestrians were present you might get some negative attention from the police. I guess it also depends on what you're driving. A nitro savage would cause a lot more harm to people than a micro-t. I it were me, i'd just stay away from pedestrians, cars/bikes, and from areas where said signs were posted.

2) If you are drunk or drinking you have no business using anything from a car to a rc vehicle. Sober up first.