Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Tamiya Rising Storm

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2008, 02:06 AM
Monsterman--HBF
My Feedback: (28)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tamiya Rising Storm

I know this isnt a great buggy above all others out there but my younger brother picked this kit up cheap and is wanting me to build it. It comes with a stock motor etc.. But if anyone has one or knows about these buggies what would be a good motor, esc to drop into it? Castle Creation has some nice set ups I have some knowledge and have used then before so what are you "Electric Guru's" thoughts.. I dont run much electric I'm ore a nitro and gas guy..

So basically I am asking what would be a good motor,esc and battery set up? He will be driving this thing on road and off...

Thanks for your help..

Old 03-09-2008, 02:27 AM
Phelansa

Default RE: Tamiya Rising Storm

Hi there,

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the DF02. Sure there are newer faster designs. But very very few of them will ever be as tough as the "Old" DF02. One example of Tamiya over engineering is the metal internals for the diffs. I have been running Brushless setups in mine for ages and have never needed to touch the Diffs except for topping up the grease.

I will however say that a Mamba Max 5700 is just to much power. I would recommend that you look at something like the Novak XBR/EX 8.5 or even the Sidewinder 4600 combo. Both are entry level systems and neither will have that "tear your car apart" type of power. That said...... It will still be devilishly fast!!!! Keep in mind that you cannot fit a slipper to the DF02. That is about the only reason I would not recommend a more powerful motor. One of the Forum member runs a MM7700 in his [:-].