Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Traxxas Slash Motor Problems

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2009, 07:35 PM
Friday3166usaf

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Traxxas Slash Motor Problems

Oh i really need some help here. I am new to electric, but have been running RC for about 4 years now. I have a slash and have burnt up 3 motors in 1 week. The first was a mamba max with a 7700, the second was a mamba max with a 5700, and the final one was a brushed motor. All of the had a 2 cell lipo running on them. The mamba's used the same ESC, then of course changed to the factor ESC. All 3 of them have went out the same way, lots of smoke.What could i be missing here. Anyone else having problems with these things. Thanks for the help!
Old 09-27-2009, 07:55 PM
Brainanator
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Traxxas Slash Motor Problems

the 7700 is way too many kv for the slash. That overheated quickly and thus gave out quickly. The 5700 is still pretty high for a slash...If you don't gear way down or just do a few sprints at a time it's no wonder that one gave out as well. I'm running a 4600 mamba in my slash, and it still get's pretty warm at 16/86 gearing. As for the brushed motor, it depends on what it was, if it was the stock titan, those suck anyway. Pick up a VXL motor, at 3500kv it has much more torque, you can gear it higher and there will be less heat issues.
Old 09-27-2009, 10:15 PM
rebuilder

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Traxxas Slash Motor Problems