RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Acme Firewolf - help please!

Reply
Old 12-03-2009, 02:15 PM
  #1
Rickle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Acme Firewolf - help please!

Hi Guys, this is my first post so please be kind

Ihave had an Acme Firewolf for about 14 months now, Ihave used it only a handful of times.

It has recently developed a problem whereby it drives very slowly, and it moves a bit jerkily (for want of a better word).

Ithought it may have been the battery, so Igot a new one and replaced that, this didnt help.

Ichanged the batterys in the handset, and this didn't help either.

I'm not sure what else Ishould be trying, so any ideas to help out an inexperienced RCuser would be useful.

Cheers.

Richard
Rickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 02:48 PM
  #2
The Mad Modder
 
The Mad Modder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: eastern, IL
Posts: 3,951
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

From what you are describing, it sounds like a low battery. However, since you already replaced it, I'd go with bad electronics. Do you have any other RCs that you could swap electronics with(to see which one is bad)?
The Mad Modder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:00 PM
  #3
Rickle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

Thanks,

Any ideas as to what may need to be replace - or is it likely to be terminal?
Rickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:53 PM
  #4
t9dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: PDX, OR
Posts: 7,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

What battery are you using?
Is the it brushless or brushed?
t9dragon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:54 PM
  #5
Rickle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

I'm using a 11.1v 3cell Lipo. and the motor is brushless
Rickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:56 PM
  #6
t9dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: PDX, OR
Posts: 7,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

Did you have the LVC set on the ESC for the lipo? If you didn't you might have killed the battery.
t9dragon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:58 PM
  #7
Rickle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

Sorry, I have no idea what that means. Less abbreviations please
Rickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:04 PM
  #8
Rickle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

Ah found out what they mean now - the battery I replaced was the same as the new one so that shouldn't have needed changing?
Rickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:11 PM
  #9
Casper06
 
Casper06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

What he was talking about is low voltage cutoff which prevents you from draining your Lipo down to an unacceptable level. That feature is programmable on your Electronic speed controller and instructions should have been included when you bought the car assuming the motor came with the car installed.
Casper06 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:51 PM
  #10
Rickle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

Just checked and the ESC is 6v-16v so it's not that...
Rickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:23 PM
  #11
t9dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: PDX, OR
Posts: 7,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rickle

Just checked and the ESC is 6v-16v so it's not that...
For a 11.1v 3s lipo your low voltage cutoff should be 9v if it is set lower than that then you can cause damage to the lipo cells.
t9dragon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:33 PM
  #12
Rickle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

it was supplied as a 11.1v lipo 3 cell, and had the ESC of (6v-16v) on it originally. Does that mean it is supplied wrongly?
Rickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:41 PM
  #13
t9dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: PDX, OR
Posts: 7,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

What does the manual say about the settings for using a 11.1v 3s lipo?
t9dragon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:47 PM
  #14
Rickle
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

'Power voltage scope:
Input voltage 6.2v - 16.8v (2-4 lithium batteries), standard voltage 11.1v (3 lithium batteries)'
Rickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:47 PM
  #15
Brainanator
 
Brainanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 2,482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Rickle

it was supplied as a 11.1v lipo 3 cell, and had the ESC of (6v-16v) on it originally. Does that mean it is supplied wrongly?
thats saying that the ESC is RATED for 6-16v, it does not mention anything about the LVC (low voltage cutoff)
Brainanator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 07:08 PM
  #16
guver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

There's a chance that is the only two other components. The motor or the esc. I would bet on the motor or connections. Maybe it would be worth getting a new motor and replacing it to see.
guver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 08:34 PM
  #17
kistner
 
kistner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 1,574
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

Rickle, as for the battery they are trying to explain that as you use the battery it depletes. It may start at 11.1 volts or actually a little higher than that but as you use it the voltage drops. there should a setting (low voltage cutoff or LVC) that stops the car at or just above 9 volts. if the battery is depleted lower than 9 volts, it may be damaged and not take a charge anymore.

the components in your car are the receiver, it has the antenna and a few slots for things to plug in. there is a speed controller (ESC), this takes signal from the receiver and volts from the battery and supplies it accordingly to your motor.

Guver is suggesting you check the connections between the battery and esc as well as the esc to motor connection and/or to try a new motor.
kistner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:38 AM
  #18
jonahmcs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

Hi, my acme firewolf won't drive. The wheels spin when off ground, butwon't when touching ground. The motor works fine is make the same noise and everything moves, except for the bits that spin the wheels. Any ideas, thanks.
[I know I should post a help for the question, but I can't get a reply unless I post it on an already open forum question]
Thankyou

jonahmcs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:50 PM
  #19
res3567
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,263
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

You can just start a new thread.....I don't know about the Acme......but ifyou start and title a newthread....you should get replies....provided peopleout there are still intothe model......
res3567 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:41 PM.