Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 19 of 19

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Acme Firewolf - help please!

    Hi Guys, this is my first post so please be kind

    Ihave had an Acme Firewolf for about 14 months now, Ihave used it only a handful of times.

    It has recently developed a problem whereby it drives very slowly, and it moves a bit jerkily (for want of a better word).

    Ithought it may have been the battery, so Igot a new one and replaced that, this didnt help.

    Ichanged the batterys in the handset, and this didn't help either.

    I'm not sure what else Ishould be trying, so any ideas to help out an inexperienced RCuser would be useful.

    Cheers.

    Richard

  2. #2
    The Mad Modder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    eastern, IL
    Posts
    3,951
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    From what you are describing, it sounds like a low battery. However, since you already replaced it, I'd go with bad electronics. Do you have any other RCs that you could swap electronics with(to see which one is bad)?
    God bless America

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    Thanks,

    Any ideas as to what may need to be replace - or is it likely to be terminal?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    PDX, OR
    Posts
    7,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    What battery are you using?
    Is the it brushless or brushed?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    I'm using a 11.1v 3cell Lipo. and the motor is brushless

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    PDX, OR
    Posts
    7,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    Did you have the LVC set on the ESC for the lipo? If you didn't you might have killed the battery.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    Sorry, I have no idea what that means. Less abbreviations please

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    Ah found out what they mean now - the battery I replaced was the same as the new one so that shouldn't have needed changing?

  9. #9
    Casper06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    2,230
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    What he was talking about is low voltage cutoff which prevents you from draining your Lipo down to an unacceptable level. That feature is programmable on your Electronic speed controller and instructions should have been included when you bought the car assuming the motor came with the car installed.
    - It is not just a hobby it is an obsession

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    Just checked and the ESC is 6v-16v so it's not that...

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    PDX, OR
    Posts
    7,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!


    ORIGINAL: Rickle

    Just checked and the ESC is 6v-16v so it's not that...
    For a 11.1v 3s lipo your low voltage cutoff should be 9v if it is set lower than that then you can cause damage to the lipo cells.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    it was supplied as a 11.1v lipo 3 cell, and had the ESC of (6v-16v) on it originally. Does that mean it is supplied wrongly?

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    PDX, OR
    Posts
    7,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    What does the manual say about the settings for using a 11.1v 3s lipo?

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    'Power voltage scope:
    Input voltage 6.2v - 16.8v (2-4 lithium batteries), standard voltage 11.1v (3 lithium batteries)'

  15. #15
    Brainanator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Great Falls, MT
    Posts
    2,482
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!


    ORIGINAL: Rickle

    it was supplied as a 11.1v lipo 3 cell, and had the ESC of (6v-16v) on it originally. Does that mean it is supplied wrongly?
    thats saying that the ESC is RATED for 6-16v, it does not mention anything about the LVC (low voltage cutoff)
    OFNA Jammin CRT.5e, stock sprint 2 drift, Savage Flux (4S), slash (just a roller for now)

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    LaGrange, OH
    Posts
    14,856
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    There's a chance that is the only two other components. The motor or the esc. I would bet on the motor or connections. Maybe it would be worth getting a new motor and replacing it to see.
    and airplanes were in

  17. #17
    kistner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Beaver, PA
    Posts
    1,406
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    Rickle, as for the battery they are trying to explain that as you use the battery it depletes. It may start at 11.1 volts or actually a little higher than that but as you use it the voltage drops. there should a setting (low voltage cutoff or LVC) that stops the car at or just above 9 volts. if the battery is depleted lower than 9 volts, it may be damaged and not take a charge anymore.

    the components in your car are the receiver, it has the antenna and a few slots for things to plug in. there is a speed controller (ESC), this takes signal from the receiver and volts from the battery and supplies it accordingly to your motor.

    Guver is suggesting you check the connections between the battery and esc as well as the esc to motor connection and/or to try a new motor.
    Let's go Pens!

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    Hi, my acme firewolf won't drive. The wheels spin when off ground, butwon't when touching ground. The motor works fine is make the same noise and everything moves, except for the bits that spin the wheels. Any ideas, thanks.
    [I know I should post a help for the question, but I can't get a reply unless I post it on an already open forum question]
    Thankyou


  19. #19

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    1,263
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Acme Firewolf - help please!

    You can just start a new thread.....I don't know about the Acme......but ifyou start and title a newthread....you should get replies....provided peopleout there are still intothe model......


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.