Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Adding caps to esc???

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2012, 11:27 AM
amrharrymac
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Adding caps to esc???

I know this isn't the boat forum but I know you truck guys are pretty sharp on this stuff and the boat crew is taking a nap on this question!

I have heard of adding caps totheESCto improve things, since I am new to EP and EP boats specifically I don't know what this means?

Do you solder them across thebatteryleads going into the ESC from the battery or do you replace the caps on the ESC with bigger ones?

I have read that if the ESC overheats the caps can puff and need replaced. A warning sign before the ESC toasts?

I know there are some simple rules about adding caps in series vs parallel. 2 of the same in series cuts the capacitance in half and two of the same in parallel doubes the capacitance. How would this help an ESC to add a capacitor?

I will be working on a Proboat Stiletto that has a 60 amp ESC and a 1800kv motor with a 4s 5000mah 50C LiPo, I don't expect to change much but I will be changing the battery connections to 6 mm bullets.

Thanks for any Help!

Harry
Old 02-10-2012, 12:45 PM
cumquat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adding caps to esc???

sorry man, cant help you. i have no knowledge about the inner workings of ESCs and the same goes for a decent chunk of the others here. some of the vets might be able to help though.
Old 02-10-2012, 01:39 PM
rclugnut10
My Feedback: (1)

I would get a cap few caps rated to 20v and around 60uF wire them in paralel. 3 or 4 should be good, if you can't get 20v ones you'll have to wire up the ones that you get, so say you can get 5v 60uf caps you'll have to a 4s 3-4p arrangement...

the lug
Old 02-11-2012, 05:58 AM
phmaximus