Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Newbie. :) need help with gearing.

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2003, 09:41 AM
PranK

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie. :) need help with gearing.

Hey all.

I am a newbie here - i have been reading for a while, but can't seem to find the info i need... probably because i dont understand most of your terms etc.

I have a Tamiya TA03-F - probably not the best, but i like it. I have had a fair few R/C cars but have never modded them.

A few weeks ago - my stock 3 stage speed controller gave up the ghost, so i figured, if i am going to buy an ESC, i will buy a new motor at the same time, so i got a Futaba ESC and a Trinity monster stock 'pro' motor. i figured it was all pretty straight forward to fit it etc..

It has all this stuff about gearing in the instructions for fitting, and i also need to solder on the engine wires (pretty simple to do). Now, i didn't read all the instructions cause it arrived as i was heading out.. so i apologise early for my distinct lack of knowledge.

I appreciate any help with how to gear this - because odds are - i will blow it up as i seem to have a tendancy to do these things.

Thanks,

Christian
Old 07-18-2003, 01:48 PM
Berserker

Christian, depending on your spur gear (how many teeth it has) I would suggest not running the Monstor 'Pro' over a 19 tooth pinion. Actually I would start around 17 to be safe and see how hot it gets from there. Here's how you can figure out your gear ratio. (This is just copied and pasted directly from the internet.)

Write down on a piece of paper the number of teeth of the spur gear. The spur gear is the larger of the two gears and the number of teeth may be stamped on the gear.