Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Scorcher Assembly Questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2010, 01:34 PM
photogdave

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scorcher Assembly Questions

Hi everyone, first post here!
I have a few newbie questions about building my new Sand Scorcher. I searched and searched but couldn't find any answers. Forgive me if they sound trivial but I've never built a model like this before.
For a bit of background, as a teen in the 80s I ran my buddy's old Grasshopper and Hornet when he got an Associated RC10. My first and only car that I bought and built was a Kyosho Pegasus - but that was a pretty simple model.
So when my dream car was re-released of course I went straight out and bought it! Here are my questions:
1. Greasing the gears: How much grease? Slather it on each gear, or just a few drops?
2. Universal joints: Do I snug them right up against the gear case or leave a little bit of play?
3. Painting wheels: I see a lot of people paint their wheels to look like chrome as per the box art. In real life I see a lot more buggies with white rims. Should I paint them white or just leave the plastic finish? What's the best type of paint for the wheels?
Any help with these questions is greatly appreciated!
Cheers!
Dave

Old 05-14-2010, 01:46 PM
nick 30

Default RE: Scorcher Assembly Questions

welcome back newbie to the world of rc

1 -  you don't want to smother grease onto everything as it can heat u and wreck things so a liberal amount will suffice, enough on your fingertip to wipe all around will be fine

2 - any time connectors or u-joints are involved, leave 1-2mm of a gap for any expansion to take place, so i would leave a gap