Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

electric question

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2010, 07:22 PM
pkennedy08

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default electric question

For all the electric RC enthusiasts out there I was just wondering why electric over nitro. Im fairly new to the RC hobby and was just curious about this.
Old 07-07-2010, 07:31 PM
Sherv
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: electric question

I'm a nitro and 1/5 gas user and was always biased against electric. Now I'm going electric because I have no choice :P but I'm starting to like it.

Nitro:
Smoke!
really fun to work on the engines and 2-3 speed transmissions
The sound when it shifts is pure addiction
Real disk brakes! Which allows my Futaba 3pm to take advantage of ABS!
2 speed transmissions!
Very dirty, noisy, and not as reliable as electric.
More moving parts!
More expensive to keep running (32 bucks a gallon of nitro)
Oil everywhere
Gets you kicked out of everywhere
Engines have limited life spans and are very sensitive to temperature changes.
Everyone stops and starts watching the nitro engine shift up and down the lot/grass/dirt/sand
Heavier (not a bad thing IMO... More durable chassis)
You can keep running the thing all day... when I go bashing I go and run for 4 hours straight... cant do that with electric.

Electric:
Way more powerful
Rechargeable energy source but a decent amount of downtime if you dont have a lot of battery packs.
Way faster
Single speed Cant hear it shift
Clean
Less moving parts to its more reliable
Brushless engines last longer
Lighter
More frail
Silent... Can run it anywhere anytime
No smell
LiPos can fail
Easier to work on. Like a pinion change... what would have taken me an hour or so on my revo to change only took 15min on my electric truck.
cheaper to keep running

Gas: