Notices
RC Electric On-Road vehicles, race cars and more Discuss electric RC on-road vehicles here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers, brushed motors, etc

Looking for a Rear Wheel Drive OnRoad Car

Old 10-31-2012, 03:21 AM
-JBLKING-

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for a Rear Wheel Drive OnRoad Car

Im interested in recreating a RWD model (Will look at AWD/4WD later) and am wondering about what platforms out there offer that. I am a novice in the RC hobby so i havent looked into on road cars yet. My requirements are that the model be RTR, RWD, Electric. All opinions and advice welcome. Thank you!

Old 10-31-2012, 12:06 PM
suburban_hooligan

Received 62 Likes on 58 Posts
Default RE: Looking for a Rear Wheel Drive OnRoad Car

what are you recreating? knowing that will be a big help. and is it something you plan on driving? or just puting on a shelf?
ill tell you right now you're not going to find much in rear wheel drive on road unless you go with a pan car (or convert a 4wd).
Old 10-31-2012, 12:28 PM
-JBLKING-

yes ive noticed there arent many RWD/2WD on road cars. I want to make a semi realistic chassic for any RWD car. I havent decided on a body yet.
Old 10-31-2012, 01:24 PM
Uncle Vinnie

Both the Tamiya TT-01 or the HPI E10 can be used as a rear wheel drive car, all you have to do remove the driveshaft.
Both cars are RTR and under $200

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXZUA8&P=7

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXTCR5&P=ML
Old 10-31-2012, 01:39 PM
-JBLKING-

Yea, i saw the Tamiyas and HPIs, i guess there isnt a stock model available for RWD huh? I wonder why is that?
Old 10-31-2012, 01:48 PM
Uncle Vinnie

They are impossible to drive, impossible to stop, not fun at all, give it a try and you'll know what I mean.
Old 10-31-2012, 02:16 PM
-JBLKING-

huh really? nothing like that ocurred to me, i just wanted a more realisticly handling on road car.
Old 10-31-2012, 02:34 PM
suburban_hooligan

ORIGINAL: Uncle Vinnie