Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric On-Road vehicles, race cars and more Discuss electric RC on-road vehicles here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers, brushed motors, etc

Mugen Mgt7 good choice?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2017, 10:20 AM
ozzy1925

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mugen Mgt7 good choice?

I am a newbie and currently own 2 rc car redcat xte and volcano epx and I have spent more than 1000usd to them but as you can guess these are newbie cars.I now want a fast road car ,I saw on YouTube people reaches 150 mph with mugen mgt 7 with 8s lipo .I know it's not easy to get to these speeds but will try my best.Do you think is the mgt7 is a good choice and i see there are 2 versions electric version and nitro which is 50usd more .Whats the difference between 2 models and which one should I get? I also see there is new mtc 1

Last edited by ozzy1925; 09-03-2017 at 12:30 PM.
Old 09-03-2017, 05:27 PM
bill_delong

Received 51 Likes on 45 Posts

Nitro will produce speeds equivalent to around 5S with a 2400kV motor, for a newbie I would stay with electric... nitro is better suited for racing with a pit crew with mains that run 30 min to an hour straight. Electric is far more economical in the long run and far less hassle.
Old 09-03-2017, 09:14 PM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You are comparing apples and oranges. You are looking at one of the best RC vehicles while owning two of the worst !
You also know that the Mugen's are kit cars ? Like all high-end RC vehicles, you have to provide the motor/engine and all electronics(servos, batteries, starter, radio, receiver, etc) and then build it.
Yes electric will be easier to run but either way you will be looking at spending around $1300.00 plus to finish one of these. You don't put cheap junk components into a $570.00 chassis.

Good Luck

Last edited by flyinwalenda; 09-03-2017 at 09:17 PM.
Old 09-03-2017, 09:58 PM
bill_delong

Originally Posted by flyinwalenda