RC Electric On-Road vehicles, race cars and more Discuss electric RC on-road vehicles here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers, brushed motors, etc

Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Reply
Old 05-09-2006, 07:36 AM
  #226
Nawabi
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

bigmik, the duratrax motor, photon speed isnt that good, my 27 turn goes faster to.
Nawabi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 08:09 AM
  #227
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

ROFL No kidding they are CRAP! I had one in my evader (came with it stock) and the thing rooted itself. Oh well, it lasted a few good weeks.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 01:46 PM
  #228
TT01 Racer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ??, NJ
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

hey i was wondering because im new to rc is the tt01 harder to handle because its a drifter and everything or is it preety easy

just curios
thanx TT01 Racer
TT01 Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 03:29 PM
  #229
swattkidd
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , CA
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

I have the tt-01 and its preety easy to handle.
swattkidd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 05:30 PM
  #230
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

If I install a 22t pinion gear instead of the stock 19T with the stock 61T spur gear, wil i notice some more speed ? Or will the difference be minimal ?
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 05:46 PM
  #231
j0nheck
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

I have had trouble with my steering setup slipping off the servo on my TT01.

Originally I tried to use the stock servo mounting holes but found that they are too far forward in the chassis to use my servo. SO i drilled my own holes--on fortunatly whenever i bang into anything with the front of my car the steering 'column' slips off the servo (it slips of the piece directly mounted to the servo, not the servo itself.) and i have to take the body off and reset. Are there any better solutions? should i glue it on?
j0nheck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 11:47 PM
  #232
Rare
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rainy, WA
Posts: 3,522
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

[:@][:@][:@][:@][:@][:@][:@] I lost my window masks for my HPI Toyota Supra!!!!!!!!!!! Anyone know if i can purchase that separately? My tt-01 is naked without them!!!!!
Rare is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:08 AM
  #233
G-Ped
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Quote:
ORIGINAL: hellwheels

bigmik, the duratrax motor, photon speed isnt that good, my 27 turn goes faster to.
Yea I know, it's not the best 20t motor out there, but I got a pretty good deal on it, $30 NZD. But the other day it was running really slow, and I noticed when looking through the venting holes, it looked real dirty. So I took the whole engine apart, cleaned it, applied some grease to the shafts and re-assembled it and it was much better.

Bigmik, speed trap your car. An Easy and way to find the correct (and pretty accurate) speed of your car.
G-Ped is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:21 AM
  #234
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Explain the "speed trap" to me.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 04:31 AM
  #235
G-Ped
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bIGmiK

Explain the "speed trap" to me.
Well, you mark out a distance, drive your car (at full speed) over that distance timing from the start to finish of that marked distance.

So for your car, you would probaly want to mark out 10-30m. And you will drive your car over that distance at full speed, so you need to have along enough run up so your can reach its top speed before the marked distance.

When your car first crosses the start of the of section you marked out, you begin the timing, and when it crosses the end of the marked section, you stop the timing. You should do this atleast 3-5 times and take an average to have more accurate results.

Then you can use the very simple formula of distance/time=speed

For e.g: If you had a distance of 15m, and it took your car 1.5 secs; 15/1.5=10m/s

Now you have your speed, but it isnt in an everyday unit. So if you want to change it to kph, just mutiply it by 3.6. 10*3.6=36kph.

There you go. Pretty simple, and aslong as you marked out the distance correctly, and your timing isnt too off you should know the exact speed of your car.
G-Ped is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 05:06 AM
  #236
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Hrmmm interesting, now to work out how to do that all by myself

Drive and time... I'll see how i do. Prolly 2morrow afternoon I'll do it.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 08:09 PM
  #237
MacDuff
 
MacDuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Riverbank, CA
Posts: 765
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

I got a Tamiya TT-01 like 2 days ago and its my first kit. I started building it, and in like 10mins in the first step, i lost the spur gear stopper (GB2). Does Tamiya sell this seperately or did I just get pwnt?
MacDuff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 09:58 PM
  #238
jgt8229
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: boston, MA
Posts: 60
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


stil need to finish trimming the tape and paint it.
jgt8229 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 01:13 AM
  #239
G-Ped
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Double post.
G-Ped is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 01:15 AM
  #240
G-Ped
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Quote:
ORIGINAL: hellwheels

bigmik, the duratrax motor, photon speed isnt that good, my 27 turn goes faster to.
Do you know the max RPM for this engine?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bIGmiK

Hrmmm interesting, now to work out how to do that all by myself

Drive and time... I'll see how i do. Prolly 2morrow afternoon I'll do it.
Yea that may be a little tricky...
G-Ped is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 01:38 AM
  #241
Rare
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rainy, WA
Posts: 3,522
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

jgt8229: good luck removing that masking tape[sm=spinnyeyes.gif][sm=bananahead.gif][sm=confused.gif]
Rare is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 02:00 AM
  #242
Rare
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rainy, WA
Posts: 3,522
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

bigmik: are you running take off's on your tt-01?
Rare is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 02:10 AM
  #243
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

yeah take off's of foams.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 01:34 PM
  #244
Rare
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rainy, WA
Posts: 3,522
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Quote:
ORIGINAL: bIGmiK

yeah take off's of foams.
because the only ones ive seen come pre-mounted. Do you know if i can just buy the tires by itself?
Rare is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 09:42 PM
  #245
MacDuff
 
MacDuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Riverbank, CA
Posts: 765
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

I got a Tamiya TT-01 like 2 days ago and its my first kit. I started building it, and in like 10mins in the first step, i lost the spur gear stopper (GB2). Does Tamiya sell this seperately or did I just get pwnt?
MacDuff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 08:42 AM
  #246
tt01drift
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central CoastNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

hey all,

I've got a TT-01 and have performed a few hop ups already... (all genuine tamiya parts):
- Full bearing kit
- Aluminium Tail Shaft
- Adjustable upper arms
- RS-540 Sports Tuned 23 turn motor
- Carbon Upper Frame
- Metal Engine Mount

I've got some yokomo drift tyres on it as well.
Running a 3000mAh 7.2v 6 cell

Now it runs pretty well.. drifts pretty nicely, as thats what i want it to do!
I'm running the standard Expec TTU-01 Controller and CPR-01 ESC/Receiver all in one unit.

I'm going to get the oil filled shocks as well.

I would more power though... What would be a good upgrade for this setup? What motors would i be able to run with the current ESC i have? I've heard they can handle only down to a 23Turn.

As mine is the standard setup of the XB series it is an all in one design with the receiver and ESC as a single unit.

has anyone else had any experience with these? I was hoping to be able to upgrade the motor without having to replace the ESC and receiver... Also any other mods that i could perform to get this drifting even better would be appreciated

Let me know!! thanks guys!

Cheers,

Brad.
tt01drift is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 09:01 AM
  #247
foolberg
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sheffild, FL
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

I have head somewhere that you can use the tamiya 23t motors with the tamiya standard speed controllers

although it is pushing it
foolberg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 09:06 AM
  #248
TT01 Racer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ??, NJ
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

can the TT01 handle both nimh and nicd
TT01 Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 09:20 AM
  #249
andrewtexas123
 
andrewtexas123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

yes
andrewtexas123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 10:23 AM
  #250
TT01 Racer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ??, NJ
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

ok thanx
TT01 Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:59 PM.