RC Electric On-Road vehicles, race cars and more Discuss electric RC on-road vehicles here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers, brushed motors, etc

Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Reply
Old 04-25-2006, 09:59 AM
  #26
Nawabi
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Ok, I didnt have a idea of that I could only special combinations, I thought it was ok just as long as it was a 48p pinion.
Nawabi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 10:31 AM
  #27
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Absolutely not, read your manual as about how to mount the motor in different holes in the mount to get the correct mesh.

If you don't find it I'll upload some pics of what I mean...
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 01:16 PM
  #28
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

All i need is one piece! The piece thats above the servo, the one that you mount the receiver or ESC on. Anyone know if i can just get my hands on this piece alone? or do i have to buy the whole A parts bag? if i can even find it...

EDIT: i believe its part number A11. Also, tower only has the main shaft in blue, i was wondering if its possible to strip the blue off? because a blue shaft aint gonna match my theme.
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 03:17 PM
  #29
Nawabi
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

I dont not think you can find that part alone, I believe you have to get the whole "A" plate set.

I do have the part, and am not using it, but I believe that the postige from Sweden would be pretty rough, around 6-7 USD.

/tobias
Nawabi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 09:20 PM
  #30
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

anyone know what i can do about the shaft?
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 09:45 PM
  #31
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

nevermind. I found a silver shaft. Now a hunt for more aluminum
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 10:58 PM
  #32
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

You CAN NOT just buy the A11 piece.

You CAN strip off anodizing, mine started out blue, but finished chrome I just used some wet and dry (1200 grit sand paper) to get it off, then used some aluminium polish to make it look sexy.

I actually don't use the huge piece of plastic that mounts the servo. I just use normal servo mounts, and I am going to run my reciever onto top in the carbon upper brace when I get it. Well that is what most people do with their TT-01's.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 03:18 AM
  #33
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Too much aluminum hop-ups for the TT-01 are blue[:@] Not EVERYONE wants blue!!!! Oh well, i guess ill have to do ALOT of mods Its funner that way anyway!
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 05:17 AM
  #34
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Woah [X(][X(][X(]. Bought myself a Monster Stock 2 27t, geared 22/58 I was seeing over 60mph, thats around 40mph. From a 27t!!! But she ran a little hot for my likings, going to try 61/22 and 61/19. See want I find the best to run.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:16 AM
  #35
Nawabi
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

bigmik, that sounds awsome.

I do also want to try different gearings for my TT01.

What I cant understand is why I have to use Tamiyas Pinions, and why I cant use any 48dp pinions.

The Spur I get, its of a totaly different shape, but the pinion...

Anyone care to explain it to me?

/tobias
Nawabi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 02:03 PM
  #36
TBen-01
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: n, ON, CANADA
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

I think the tt01 and tb01 shara a similar drive setup; my tb01 uses metric-pitch gears (.6 or .4, I forget, check manual) and I don't think you want to mix metric with 48p (48 teeth per inch); ever thread a metric nut on an imperial bolt? same idea..
TBen-01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 02:22 PM
  #37
TT01 Racer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ??, NJ
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Hey i just got a TT01 Any suggested Hop ups?

Thanks for any suggestions
TT01 Racer
TT01 Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 03:34 PM
  #38
dracohowe
 
dracohowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

ball bearings
dracohowe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:59 PM
  #39
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

OK this is the thing with the TT-01 gears, THEY ARE ALL 32 PITCH!!!

Haha lol, you don't need to use a tamiya pinion, just a 32pitch one, and tamiya ones a really good for the price, and are 32pitch, so I use and recomend them... And also, yes, the Tamiya Pinions do have a metric grub screw on them... But I live in Australia, where we use metric aswell, so I like it. But if you live in the US or where ever that used imperial or standard sized tools, just goto the hardward store and pick up a set of metric allen keys, should only cost $5 for an OK set...

TT01 RACER, goto the first page and read about the hop-ups I said are good, and if you are planning on "racing" a TT-01 against other people, unless you are racing in a TT-01 only class (my LHS use to have one of them but they closed it down []) I really, really, doubt you are going to get to far, the TT-01 cut don't cut it on the track.

Today I'm going to try 61t/18 or 19 in my TT-01 see if its better with the new motor, I find it a bit sluggish off the line, and top end that I dont need. So I'll try some new stuff...
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 11:40 PM
  #40
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Made a little video this morning!

http://media.putfile.com/TT01-with-new-Monster-Stock-2

Tell me that aint fast, with crazy torque for a 27t!?
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 11:46 PM
  #41
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

[:@] i dont wanna pay $10-$15 for a whole tree of parts when all i need is one! GRRRRRR! i guess its impossible to just find one part huh? If anyone wants to make a deal PM me.
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 11:52 PM
  #42
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Love the video BigMik!!!!! That thing is FAST!!!! What tires are you using?
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 12:15 AM
  #43
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Lol, they are a racing set of foam tires... With a normal motor they handle like they are on rails, but this thing is just spinning the tires when I boot it off the line.

And I would ship you my servo mount, I got 3 But would cost me prolly $10US to ship it.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 12:19 AM
  #44
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

$10[X(] Thats ok bigmik Thanks anyway. Bigmik how often have you ordered from rcmart? i did not place my order at rcmart, but placed in order on ebay with them. Im expecting it to take 2 weeks to arrive since its coming from hong kong. But i was just wondering how often you have done business with rcmart and how are they?
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 12:25 AM
  #45
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Personally I have never done it... Sorry if I gave the impresion that I have.

BUT the guys at my LHS and track do orders there all the time!!! I know one of the guys is ever sponsered by RCmart. And they seem to go back and get orders from there all the time, they even do small individual orders like a left rear a-arm But yes, from what I have been told, RCmart is a great plcae for communication and good delivery.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:05 AM
  #46
Nawabi
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

bigmik, that sure does look fast enough!

I know that you have geared for the the power tourque of the monster stock... Im gonna place a Chameleon 2 pro in my TT01, 19 turns, wich is more a high rpm motor, do you guys think that it would be to much strain on the motor to gear that high, resulting in a overheated enginge?

/tobias
Nawabi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:36 AM
  #47
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

hellwheels: Try it. Just keep an eye on it and check the heat often.
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 01:41 AM
  #48
AdonaiRustler
Thread Starter
 
AdonaiRustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: W, HI
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Id really love it if i could find a company in the usa the makes hop-ups for the TT-01!
AdonaiRustler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 02:03 AM
  #49
RC_Diablo
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Stockbridge, GA
Posts: 379
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

best part of the vid is the last dift in to the street and worst part is you should have played the whole disturbed song[:@] lol
RC_Diablo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 02:22 AM
  #50
bIGmiK
 
bIGmiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Haha, sorry if you didn't like the music.

As for the gearing, when I tryed the motor with 22/58, it ran WAY to hot!!! So I went back to the stock 19/61, and it ran great.

Hellwheels, I would put in the C2 with stock gearing (because stock is the lowest gearing you can get for the car, so it shouldn't get that hot). I could try my Reedy Quad Mag 19t and see how it runs in the TT-01, seeing it just melted my diff gear in my Evader, it's not doing anything until I get the new gear.
bIGmiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:05 PM.