RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Real Flight G6 Video card requirements

Reply

Old 05-11-2012, 02:06 AM
  #1  
Jon Wold
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Jon Wold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Real Flight G6 Video card requirements

I'm trying to figure out if my laptop will run RF6 or not. It's an HP Elitebook 8460p. It's my work PC, and has an Intel HD graphics family video card. I suspect this card does not have dedicated video memory, and is therefor below the min. system requirements. I'm not expecting great performance, but will it run at all? The Laptop has Intel i5 vPro CPU, and windows 7 64 bit. It's just a few months old and is pretty good at working with heavy stuff like Photoshop and inDesign.

I'm running AFP Deluxe, and it runs beautifully, no lag and pretty much max. settings, but this is a very old sim by todays standards.

Any tips greatly appreciated, thanks.
Jon Wold is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 08:40 AM
  #2  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Real Flight G6 Video card requirements

It will likely run the photofields.

The 3D airfields will have to have the settings turned down to run smoothly.

Realflight has direct hardware support for the Intel graphics chipsets, but you are correct that this is a sub-optimal configuration for ANY 3D program.

Photoshop, etc. do NOT take advantage of 3D hardware, so unfortunately their performance is somewhat irrelevant.

I would suggest downloading the Realflight demo, either the RF5 or RF6 demos will work to show you how the laptop will do.

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:45 AM
  #3  
Jon Wold
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Jon Wold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Real Flight G6 Video card requirements

Thanks, I didn't know there was a demo. Silly me. I tried now, and it runs beautifully.
Jon Wold is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 02:32 AM
  #4  
rgurrala
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: sloughBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Real Flight G6 Video card requirements

hi there,
is it possible to upgrade hobbyking real flight wireless simulator adaptor using official real flight G6 update CD at all please?

many thanks,
Raj
rgurrala is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:14 AM
  #5  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Real Flight G6 Video card requirements

ORIGINAL: rgurrala

hi there,
is it possible to upgrade hobbyking real flight wireless simulator adaptor using official real flight G6 update CD at all please?
No.

Realflight requires your Interlink to work.

The HK adapter works great as a second wireless controller provided the Interlink is plugged in as the primary.

I use the wireless adapter to run Realflight 6 in my family room but the Interlink must remain plugged in.

And all of this does not violate the EULA so is perfectly legal too... which I suspect is not what you are doing...
opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service