RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Realflight classic with Win 7?

Reply

Old 09-15-2012, 04:19 PM
  #1  
Warbird Tom
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Troy, OH,
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Realflight classic with Win 7?

I did a search but to no avail. Before I waste a bunch of time on this I'll just ask. Will Real Flight Classic run on Win 7? I tried to load but got a missing dll error when I tried to run. Just wondering if I would be further ahead to buy the newest version and be done with it. I would like to run this on my laptop as i no longer own a desktop unit.
Thanks in advance.
Warbird Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:08 AM
  #2  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?

What DLL does it say it is missing?

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:36 PM
  #3  
Warbird Tom
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Troy, OH,
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?

It says missing d3drm.dll
Warbird Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:08 PM
  #4  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?

That's a DirectX file that was removed in DX10 and DX11.

Download the DirectX9.0c redistributable from Microsoft.

Run it to install DirectX9.

The installer is very smart and it will not remove or downgrade your existing DX10 or DX11 files. It will merely add the missing files to your system.

Once done, reboot and try again.

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 05:08 PM
  #5  
Warbird Tom
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Troy, OH,
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?

Thanks for the info. I gave it a shot, it says it installed but still same error. I hate dll files.....
Warbird Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:22 PM
  #6  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?

Find the installed file and put a COPY of it in the Realflight directory.

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 12:25 PM
  #7  
Warbird Tom
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Troy, OH,
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?


ORIGINAL: opjose

Find the installed file and put a COPY of it in the Realflight directory.

Thanks, did this and now the opening screen comes up and all seems well.....until i hit the fly button to start the sim. I then get the error of:

L\rcflight\KELiBRunTime\DirectDraw\DXDiretInput.cp p

Error line 491......

Any thoughts on what this all means? There is no drive L: in my directory......
Warbird Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 01:27 PM
  #8  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?

Most prior references to this I've seen mention that this error occurs because your joystick or input device is not "configured" for DirectX.

To fix that you normally go into the control panel and calibrate your joystick/device.

Here's the rub:

If you are running Vista or Win7, you may not have the necessary control panel applet for legacy devices.

I remember getting around this with Vista using the control panel applet provided with the Soundblaster "Joystick port fix".

Neither Vista nor Win7 support older joysticks. The Soundblaster joystick fix, added some XP files and configuration info to Vista/Win7 ( 32bits only! ) to make the Soundblaster Gameport work. A provided CPL enabled you to configure the devices in Vista.

I could never get it to work in Win7 64bit though.

Are you running 32 or 64 bit Windows 7?

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 01:38 PM
  #9  
Warbird Tom
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Troy, OH,
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?

I am running the 32 bit version. But this makes sense since I was starting the program without the controller hooked to the laptop as I do not have the usb to gameport plug yet. I will purchase it asap to see if it works. Hopefully it will work.

Just for fun I went to amazon and looked up the realflight basic. The pic of the dvd with the sim controller is the exact one I already have from ten yrs ago and says win 95/98 on it. Makes me think there is no difference with what they offer today to what I already have so I want to try to get it to work.

As always thank you for all your help.




ORIGINAL: opjose

Most prior references to this I've seen mention that this error occurs because your joystick or input device is not ''configured'' for DirectX.

To fix that you normally go into the control panel and calibrate your joystick/device.

Here's the rub:

If you are running Vista or Win7, you may not have the necessary control panel applet for legacy devices.

I remember getting around this with Vista using the control panel applet provided with the Soundblaster ''Joystick port fix''.

Neither Vista nor Win7 support older joysticks. The Soundblaster joystick fix, added some XP files and configuration info to Vista/Win7 ( 32bits only! ) to make the Soundblaster Gameport work. A provided CPL enabled you to configure the devices in Vista.

I could never get it to work in Win7 64bit though.

Are you running 32 or 64 bit Windows 7?

Warbird Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 08:30 PM
  #10  
BubbasanJohn
Senior Member
 
BubbasanJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: , CA
Posts: 433
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight classic with Win 7?



Do not think you can successfully run realflight with out the interlink controler hooked up.

BubbasanJohn is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service