RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Realflight and Windows 8

Reply
Old 10-27-2012, 05:15 PM
  #1
icegs
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 98
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Realflight and Windows 8

Has anybody tried it yet? Any issues?
icegs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:15 PM
  #2
jzrf6c
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 565
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

I haven't tried it yet. But, it would be rather ridiculous if MS did not include the combatibility mode in W8. So, you should be able to set the mode for windows XP or Windows 7.
jzrf6c is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:49 PM
  #3
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

No problems, works great.

You just have to run the setup as administrator and make SURE that the DX9c redistributables get installed too.

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:23 PM
  #4
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

opjose: Could you describe this in more detail. I tried to load Realflight on a new Windows 8 laptop. it has more than enough memory/ram/cpu capability. I'm afraid that I'm not a computer weenie..When I try to load it, I get a question about running a program from an unrecognized publisher, I tell it ok, I hear the CD player sinning, then nothing.
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:45 PM
  #5
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

The download dialoge box will sometimes "hide" behind what ever window you might have open. Keep trying and see where that box is hiding. Close or move other windows to clean off the screen and find it.

You did the right thing by saying "yes" to the download program question. Let us know how you do.

Ernie Misner
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:10 PM
  #6
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

I looked around. Doesn't seem to be there.It also seems to want to freeze the PC. I've done a half-dozen hard shutdowns tonight... aarrgghhhErnie, appreciate the suggestion. Sadly, it's late, and I have to work tomorrow.v/rBillIs it ok to curse, flame, degrade, insult or embarrass Microsoft here????? Aggravating....
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:23 PM
  #7
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

Also, it's creating a Realflight Folder in the "Users/Documents" area, but nothing is in he folder.Any help is appreciated.v/rBill
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:39 AM
  #8
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

You have it on a CD and you are popping that into the computer, right? Is this a new realflight 6.5 or? Try going directy to that drive in your computer and when that comes up click on Open, and installation link should be there somewhere. You might go to Programs and see if it installed enough there to show Realflight anything, then un install that.

Realflight has good support. You can call them or email them at rfsupport@greatplanes.com
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:38 AM
  #9
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

It is a new RF 6.5 CD. The only thing that I could find on the computer was the empty folder. I did try getting rid of that, rebooting, and re-installing. No luck yet.I sent RF a question via email. We'll see what they say.'ll give it a go tonight.Thanks !!
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:49 AM
  #10
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,814
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

I just got RF 6.5 for review and it installed with no problems on my new laptop.

I'm going to play with the HDMI output to the big screen and Surround Sound when the girly leaves for work
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:18 AM
  #11
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 5113wh

opjose: Could you describe this in more detail. I tried to load Realflight on a new Windows 8 laptop. it has more than enough memory/ram/cpu capability. I'm afraid that I'm not a computer weenie..When I try to load it, I get a question about running a program from an unrecognized publisher, I tell it ok, I hear the CD player sinning, then nothing.
Ok, let's see if this helps.

First since Realflight is installed from a DVD you do not have to "download" anything to get it installed.

Given that you are new to Windows 8, I - HIGHLY - recommend that before you do anything else you click on the following link and download and install [link=http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/]Classic Shell (tm)[/link].

Click here: [link=http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/]Classic Shell (tm)[/link]

Run the classic shell installer program. It will ask for administrative permissions during setup. Permit it to proceed.

Once done reboot and go to the Desktop. You may be asked to configure [link=http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/]Classic Shell (tm)[/link]. Choose your preferred options ( I like the Windows 7 interface to go with Windows 8 ).

You'll find that now Windows 8 looks and acts like Windows 7 too! You have the best of both words now....

( If you haven't installed it yet, I await your thanks! )

In the Desktop's menu click on "Computer".

That opens the file manager.

Insert the Realflight DVD.

Windows 8 MAY prompt you to run the setup program. Cancel or get out of that.

In the File Manager the DVD drive's icon will change to reflect that the RF DVD is in the drive. You may see this under "Devices with removable storage".

Right click on the DVD's icon and select "Open".

The file manager will now display the contents of the DVD.

Off hand I do not remember if the executable sits on the root of the DVD or is stored in a subfolder.

Try to find the Realflight installation file. It may be called something like "setup" or "setup.exe", or Realflightinstall.exe or something like that.

( Note it is a good idea to set your file manager to reveal file suffixes to make things like this easier to do. Google "windows 8 display file suffix" for more information on that. )

Right click on the executable installer file.

A new box with a menu will pop up. In that box you'll see an option labeld "run as administrator".

Click on that to launch the installer. You'll be asked for permission to proceed.

This permits the installer to run the DX9c setup and make all of the required registry entries, etc. Make SURE you PERMIT the DX9c installer to run. This is important.

Once it is done, you'll be left with a new Realflight launcher icon on your desktop. You also may be asked to reboot. Do so.

A Realflight icon will appear in the Metro interface.... DO NOT click on it yet!

Again go to the Desktop. You will see a "Realflight" icon on the desktop.

Right click on the icon and again select "run as administrator" to finish setting up Realflight. You need not bother calibrating the controller yet as you'll need to do it again later.

Exit out of Realflight once it starts.

Before proceeding I suggest going to the "REAL" control panel under "Devices and Printers", that [link=http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/]Classic Shell (tm)[/link] reveals, and calibrating the Interlink in Windows FIRST.

Then start up Realflight (no more right clicking!) and perform the in-simulator calibration.

You can then also adjust settings, etc.

Note that anything you adjust from here out only applies to your "User" account. If someone else logs into the machine, they will also have to set Realflights configuration options separately and also calibrate the controller in-simulation.

That's it!






opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:52 PM
  #12
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

I tried this, with and without ClassicShell. No luck... I did call GP's tech support. They are looking into this. Seem like nice folks.
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:29 PM
  #13
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

I've tried everything up to and including vile language..... I did remove all races of Norton Anti-virus. Still didn't work. Suggestions ???
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:14 PM
  #14
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

Are you seeing the executable on the installation DVD?

At what point do things fail?

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:02 PM
  #15
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

By "seeing the executable" on the DVD, he means: Try to find the Realflight installation file. It may be called something like "setup" or "setup.exe", or Realflightinstall.exe or something like that
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:14 AM
  #16
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

I'm seeing setup.exe in the root of the DVD, and tried running it as the administrator (and not as the administrator as well)like Opjosie suggested. At that point the DVD drive spins for a minute or so, then it goes quiet. I've tried waiting it out. 10-15 mins or so, but nothing. The only thing that really happens beyond that is that a Realflight folder appears on my C drive, but nothing is loaded. I've brought the laptop and DVD to the office. We've got a kid out of college that's a "gamer". I'll give him a crack at it today.... Am I that old ??? Remember IBM cards ??? At least I never used a slide rule.... :-/
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:44 AM
  #17
RickC2009
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Patchogue, NY
Posts: 475
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

I have realflight G 6 and tried installing it on my new computer (HP Pavilion p6-2317c PC Tower, AMD A6-5400K, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive )
When I put the RF 6 disk in the DVD and then click install the computer freezes up!
After many time of trying this and restarting my computer with no luck, the install works fine on my other computer, I gave up and left the computer alone for a long period of time then the RF installer popped up!
I then installed RF6 but each time the installer ran I had to leave the computer frozen for a long time.
Once the program was installed it ran fine!
The the update to RF6.5 had the same problems, taking a long time 15 minutes for the run the installer to run update.

I have since recovered my computer and still have the long wait for the installer to run.

Is there a compatibility problem with windows8 and the installer program?.
Hope this helps someone
Rickc


RickC2009 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:57 AM
  #18
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

I'll give it a try Rick and see what happens.  It can sit here next to me at the office while I get other work done.  Kid from across the hall tried his magic, no luck.  His older brother is a computer admin guy at a company near here.  Brian's going to ask him if he knows anything.  Appreciate the post.   I'll let y'all know.....
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:22 AM
  #19
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

We Have Success !!!! Rick was right. When it goes in to freeze mode, wait it out. Took about 20 minutes for the dialog box to come up. Also when you go to Launch realflight, it took another 20 mins or so for the dialog box that asks for the serial numbers to come up. A couple of other things... I took the antu-virus off the system. Also, with Windows 8, do not install from the Start screen. Launch it from the desktop.screen....AND.... WAITITOUT!!!! I called Great Planes Product Support and passed this along to them. They are nice people. They seemed to appreciate the input.

Again, thank you Rick, Ernie and Josie.

V/R


Bill
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:59 PM
  #20
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

Whew! don't you just love those mysteries!
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 08:44 AM
  #21
RickC2009
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Patchogue, NY
Posts: 475
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 5113wh

We Have Success !!!! Rick was right. When it goes in to freeze mode, wait it out. Took about 20 minutes for the dialog box to come up. Also when you go to Launch realflight, it took another 20 mins or so for the dialog box that asks for the serial numbers to come up. A couple of other things... I took the antu-virus off the system. Also, with Windows 8, do not install from the Start screen. Launch it from the desktop. screen.... AND.... WAIT IT OUT !!!! I called Great Planes Product Support and passed this along to them. They are nice people. They seemed to appreciate the input.

Again, thank you Rick, Ernie and Josie.

V/R


Bill
Cool, I am glad I didn't give up and just returned the computer (as my wife suggested) while I was up all night long messing with it!
Thanks for reporting it to GP. I hope the can come up with a quick fix before others just give up on realflight.
If you hear anything back from them please post it here.
Rickc
RickC2009 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:52 AM
  #22
5113wh
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

Rick, you were only up ONE night?? I spent two nights messing with it and got into hot water with my girlfriend.... The folks at GP are still getting their arms around Windows 8. I can't really fault them at all. At least now I have something to play with this winter. We're due for a bad one in Cincy. Also need go order a new Soling 1 Meter kit so I'll have a new boat to sail next season. Cheers y'all !!
5113wh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:49 PM
  #23
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,024
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

>>> The folks at GP are still getting their arms around Windows 8 >>>

That Classic Shell download is a riot. Guess some of us should never upgrade to Win 8... !
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 09:42 AM
  #24
tproveau
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fonthill, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8

Hey, Realflight 6 installs and updates on my Windows 8 pro laptop, as well as the Heli megapack. Reading the suggestions from this thread helped greatly, thanks to all.
AS others have seen the only major problem is each time I ran an install from the disc's or download update it took about 20 minutes for the RealFlight install dialouge box to show up with nothing on the windows desktop showing any progress etc. I think most if not all who are installing realflight 6 or 6.5 in windows 8 are having this same issue, as I have read on this and other forums.
So be patient, it takes hours to complete a full install but seems to work ok after all the installs are finished.

This is my first post on here, so hi to everyone who reads this.

Thanks
tproveau is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:19 AM
  #25
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Realflight and Windows 8


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ernie Misner

>>> The folks at GP are still getting their arms around Windows 8 >>>

That Classic Shell download is a riot. Guess some of us should never upgrade to Win 8... !
The reference to "Monkey Island (tm)" was purposely done... get the point? Heh...

opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:57 PM.