RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Best simulator out there for best price?

Reply

Old 02-09-2014, 03:10 PM
  #1  
ITS25
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Best simulator out there for best price?

I'm new to flying all together, I have one R/C and am looking for a second, but figured it'd be smarter to get a simulator first. So I know points of view on simulators vary, but what would be a great one for a great price? (I'm a teen so money doesn't come in bulks) Thanks everyone! You guys are great.
ITS25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 10:07 AM
  #2  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Each has their strengths and no one sim is definitive in all aspects.

For general use you'll have a hard time beating any of the top sims.

Realflight 7
Aerofly 7
Phoenix 4 ( soon 5 )
opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 01:40 AM
  #3  
planesaver
Junior Member
 
planesaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've been in to RC flying for about 2 years. Before I even thought of buying, or flying an RC plane, I bought the Phoenix Simulator that came with the DX5. I flew the Apprentice for about 6 months, and pretty much mastered it before I bought one. When I did, it was no problem for me to fly it. I've not had a crash yet thanks to Phoenix. It can get real expensive if you crash, so I recommend learning on the simulator until you're confident. I'm now in Afghanistan, and I fly on Phoenix a couple hours a day on my down time. Good luck.
planesaver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 05:28 AM
  #4  
aadanos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I recently bought a Realflight and when I try to install it on a O/S W/8.1 it would not come up.This is a brand new CPU.Tried it on my wife CPU O/S Windows 7 it came right up and loaded.Any one has this problem besides me ?
aadanos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 10:42 AM
  #5  
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nope, it runs just fine on Windows 8, 8.1, both on x86 and x64 versions.

You did not say what happens.

Does the installer finish running?
Did you install it by right clicking on the setup file and hitting "run as administrator"?
Did you right click on the launcher ( the first time ) and select "run as administrator"?
Does the launcher come up?
Did you permit the installation of DirectX 9?

etc. etc. etc.
opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service