RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

RC Real Flight simulator

Reply

Old 10-15-2015, 11:51 PM
  #1  
JB32
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RC Real Flight simulator

I'm new to this forum so Hi guys
I purchased Real Flight Sim some years ago when I was using windows 98 but soon after I was forced to give up all hobbies to care for my sweet Wife's 24 hour care after her stroke which went on for all those years until she passed away last year 2014. I recently tried to use the sim but found it wouldn't work so I contacted Real Flight to ask for help. I was shocked to get a reply that it was no longer usable after windows 98 was discontinued I had the full set along with the interface control. I'm now told I need to purchase the whole thing again. I'm not an IT person, but I have to ask why can't they just have a `fix` to update to windows Vista etc ?
Is there any other RC flight supplier I could use their software and use my interface I have ?
Regards. to all. John
JB32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 06:48 AM
  #2  
Tom Nied
 
Tom Nied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 2,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It's how all this wonderful high tech stuff is produced. It has a usable life and then becomes obsolete. I'm no IT wizard but I'll bet it would be easier/cheaper to just buy the next generation of simulator than to try to get what you have running. I'm running Realflight 3.5 on a Windows 7 computer, and it works just OK. Would love to have something newer. RF7.5, $170 from Tower http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXERVF&P=ML
Tom Nied is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 10:06 AM
  #3  
JB32
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Tom, It seems you are correct in your thinking on this High tech way of business. It confuses me about the way these products are sold and then some how when time goes bye and it's no longer useable the blame is pointed at ` Windows no longer supports it` Does this mean that these companies have some kind of Limited contract with Windows for every product they develope ? If this is so then why doesn't windows have a `fix` so that good honest customers can continue to use a product that was Contracted to the user who wasn't informed about the `limited` usable time ?
Microsoft Flight Simulator come to mind here, I'm able to continue using that for every windows upgrade ?
JB32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 02:19 AM
  #4  
JB32
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Problem solved I've purchased a far better Sim than the Real Flight. The Pheonix RC5 W
JB32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 05:56 AM
  #5  
Tom Nied
 
Tom Nied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 2,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good for you, I'm jealous. I would upgrade, but I fear that would also require getting a new computer. How did you decide on the Phoenix?
Tom Nied is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 06:21 AM
  #6  
JB32
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well Tom I decided to search around because of the not good experience I had with Real Flight after sales people who didn't even try to help me But I'm so pleased that I did find this Phoenix setup and it's ok with windows XP, Vista, and beyond, even windows 10 that I don't use to date
Why do you think that you would need to get a new computer because the specs needed for the real flight are just the same for the Phoenix. I can also configure my Spektrum DX 5e controller with the USB lead provided too.
There's so much more to this new setup that I've not yet had the time to experiment. I'm useing the Piper Cub plane because I have the very same model I built a few years back, so I'm now training with that to get my skills back to Normal after many years out of touch with flying in the fields.
Sorry for the delay in answering you mate, but I thought I would have been informed of any replies in my emails, this didn't happen.
JB32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 07:04 AM
  #7  
Tom Nied
 
Tom Nied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 2,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No problem with the time of your response. Sometimes RC Universe replies go to my Spam folder.

I guess I think that I might need a new computer is that when I tried to download the video demonstration of the Phoenix, it wouldn't run because I have something missing.
Tom Nied is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 10:33 AM
  #8  
JB32
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Tom contact this address and they will help you with your missing link, they are very quick and helpfull. But it has to be a working day, not wekend. and they seem to be in America and are 5 hours behind the UK time.
support@pheonix-sim.com.
JB32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 01:30 PM
  #9  
Tom Nied
 
Tom Nied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 2,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will have to check it out next week. Thanks
Tom Nied is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service