RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Real Flight 8 (RF8)

Reply
Old 11-01-2017, 06:49 AM
  #1
mithrandir
Thread Starter
 
mithrandir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: adelanto, CA
Posts: 1,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Real Flight 8 (RF8)

WOW!!
I recently acquired Real Flight 8 and loaded onto my 'puter.
What a hoot!
I have been out of the main loop for a few years as I have started over with kids, married a beautiful (and younger Name:  197.gif
Views: 137
Size:  482 Bytes ) lady... so have been busy with that. Well... the youngest is getting a bit more independent, so I am burning back into my old ways.... what a way to get back..... with Real Flight 8!!
Tower has some rebate action going on now.....
If you want the Tx included: https://www.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGWCM&P=3
or if you still have a controller from a previous version: https://www.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGWCN&P=3
mithrandir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 06:50 AM
  #2
mithrandir
Thread Starter
 
mithrandir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: adelanto, CA
Posts: 1,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It takes about 6 to 10 minutes to install....
The "Default" airplane when you first start it up is the "Thunderbolt Sbach 35%"....
Real Flight makes it super easy to tweak and modify the default planes.....


Click "Aircraft"... click "EDIT (Name of Active Model Here)" and you can get right into tweaking to your personal preference!!
I moved the CG back an inch, changed the "Vehicle Graphical Scale (%)" to 185 and increased the Elevator deflection to 45 degrees.... (Oh yeah... change the Prop Graphical scale too if you want it to look right!!)


That right there makes the default Sbach pretty dang good!!
Click image for larger version

Name:	a1080465-4-rf8-001.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	730.8 KB
ID:	2243251
mithrandir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 06:52 AM
  #3
mithrandir
Thread Starter
 
mithrandir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: adelanto, CA
Posts: 1,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

And for those who fly Mode 1, Like me, QQ, Hanno, (or any other Mode for that matter)... it is really easy to move the Ratchet, Lever and Spring in the controller, and in the software, you can select under the "Simulation" option, "Select Controller" and then choose "Edit".... a small window pops up and you can assign controls to the various sticks and switches... sort of like the "Function" menu on Futaba radios.....
.
Click image for larger version

Name:	a1080467-156-rf8-003.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	752.9 KB
ID:	2243252
.
Click image for larger version

Name:	a1080468-125-rf8-004.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	785.6 KB
ID:	2243253
.
Click image for larger version

Name:	a1080469-94-rf8-005.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	205.1 KB
ID:	2243254
mithrandir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:52 AM
  #4
jdan
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: media, PA
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RF 8 Problems

Just installed RF 8. Everything went well until I tried to update it. Keep getting Error Message. Reinstalled it several times, same message.
Really disappointed !!.
jdan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 03:25 PM
  #5
mithrandir
Thread Starter
 
mithrandir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: adelanto, CA
Posts: 1,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What error message?
I am s'prised... I usually struggle with software installation... and mine went lickity-split....
mithrandir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 05:30 PM
  #6
jdan
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: media, PA
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RF 8 Problems

The error read "Unrecognized update method". Contacted tech support, that was a joke.
jdan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2017, 08:30 AM
  #7
Ryan Douglas
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This is a known issue with an easy fix! Don't let it hold you back.

Unfortunately, it seems I am not allowed to post links until I have more posts. Please go to the Knife Edge Software discussion forums and look for the KEError 24052 sticky thread in the RealFlight 8 forum.

Can you please share some more detail about your experience with Technical Support?
Ryan Douglas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2017, 10:21 AM
  #8
jdan
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: media, PA
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ryan, Thank you for the info I'll give it a try. The discussion was with a tech named Alex. After I described my problem and read the error word for word. he had me pull up a file with a description
of my system info and asked me to email it to him. When I told him I wasn't familiar with that procedure he told me to find someone with more computer experience until then there was nothing he could do.
I let him know I was very offended by that . I told him I didn't know you had to be a computer genius to download a simple program and that I had already done RF 7 and RF Drone.
Ryan, Thank you for your interest.
jdan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 04:09 PM
  #9
Ryan Douglas
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you for that info.

Also, hopefully you're already happily running .019 by now, jdan. But if not--and for anyone else who comes along--please note that the solution for this issue is now more user-friendly than when I first posted. My original post on the Knife Edge forums has been edited accordingly.
Ryan Douglas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 04:11 PM
  #10
Ryan Douglas
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Link to fix

It looks like I should be able to post this now.

Here is a direct link to the solution:

Online update problems (KEError 21081, KEError 24052) - Knife Edge
Ryan Douglas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 03:41 AM
  #11
jdan
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: media, PA
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RF 8 Problems

Ryan, Fix went well. I also passed it on to a friend, who had the same problem.
Thanks
jdan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:19 AM
  #12
Ryan Douglas
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Great, glad to hear it! Thanks for reporting back.
Ryan Douglas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:57 AM.