Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Flight Simulator Software
Reload this Page >

OK to have antenna down while using Flight SIm?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

OK to have antenna down while using Flight SIm?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2005, 09:26 PM
vf171
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OK to have antenna down while using Flight SIm?

OK, here's a dumb question.

I read on another board that transmitting RF with the antenna down can burn out a critical transistor (forget exactly what they called it). Here's my questions:

1. When I plug my TX into the controller on G2 am I transmitting RF? (I know that I'm not actually controlling the plane on the screen via RF! )

2. If I'm transmitting RF do I need to extend my antenna?

I know this probably sounds dumb but I am a newbie, we are allowed to sound dumb beacuse in fact we are.

Thanks in advance!!

VF171
Old 01-15-2005, 10:28 PM
GBR2
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: OK to have antenna down while using Flight SIm?

When you plug into the buddy box connector on the transmitter, it automatically prevents the RF section from operating, so you are not transmitting anything. If your transmitter has a plug in RF module and it makes you feel better, you can also remove that from the transmitter.
Old 01-15-2005, 11:36 PM
STLPilot
My Feedback: (21)

To test whether or not your transmitter is transmitting when your cable is plugged in, turn on one of your airplanes and see if the radio transmits.

I've heard on one or two cases that it was still transmitting. If this is the case, remove the Xtal or module like GB said.
Old 01-16-2005, 07:55 AM
cfossa
My Feedback: (5)

ORIGINAL: GBR2