Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Flight Simulator Software
Reload this Page >

FSOne review from a newbie

Community
Search
Notices
RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

FSOne review from a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2006, 10:40 AM
macboyrules

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FSOne review from a newbie

Background:

I have been flying a Firebird Freedom for about six months (first plane, never flown before that), and I have never owned a sim (only spent a few hours on a a buddies' G2 and a little time at the LHS). I was given a Typhoon 3D for my birthday, but am scared to death to fly it, so I went to the LHS to purchase a sim to get some "stick time" in before I took my Ty3D for its maiden flight. At my LHS, I looked at G3 and was ready to buy it, when the owner told me about a new product he just got called FSOne. After looking at them both, he told me that he would sell the FSOne to me at a $30 discount, because it was going on sale soon (to help spur interest in the new product). After noticing that FSOne had many planes from the same company as my planes, I bought it. My computer is a 2.8GHz P4, 4 GB RAM, Radeon 9800 w/ 128 MB running WinXP MCE 2005.

Reactions:

Out of the box, I had no problems installing the product. I think it would have been nicer to put the product on 1 DVD instead of 4 CDs. Anyone who is going to have the requirements to run this sim is going to have a DVD drive, or can spring for the $10 to get one. This may help with the install times, as you won't have to worry about disc swapping, and maybe not have to compress install files so much. Anyway, it took about 45 minutes to install. I followed the instructions on the card for setting up the TacCon controller which was a piece of cake.