RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

reflex xtr updates

Reply
Old 12-17-2008, 03:35 AM
  #1
snartakus
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bristol, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default reflex xtr updates

I recently reinstalled reflex xtr on my pc I went to the main reflex site
for the updates but they are not there. I have emailed reflex but no reply
as yet. I wondered if there is another place I can get the upgrades ?

Thanks Mark.


snartakus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 05:11 AM
  #2
UStik
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augsburg, GERMANY
Posts: 951
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

Something has changed with Reflex, just don't ask. []

There's a new website called [link=http://www.simwerk.de/cms/index.php?lang=en]SimWerk[/link]. It's not translated yet, and they may have no UK distributor so far, but there's a web shop in English. There you may order the current version 5.05 which will require you to order a new dongle as well if you have an older Reflex version and not a newer dongle or an iVol. If in doubt just drop them an e-mail.
UStik is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 05:30 PM
  #3
snartakus
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bristol, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

Thanks for reply I am not really having much luck trying simwerk site I have the older version so I think I
need patch 5.03 I emailed simwork but there is no reply and there is no reference on their site to the older
version. I found a few sites which deal with addons for reflex but no sign of the patch. can someone here
send me the patch maybe email this ? Anyway I hope someone here can help me here.

Thanks Mark Caines.

snartakus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 01:45 AM
  #4
UStik
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augsburg, GERMANY
Posts: 951
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

That's too bad. Maybe SimWerk doesn't reply due to absence, maybe because they don't support the older versions. Anyway, there's no legal way to get version 5.03 any longer (the copyright issue, you know). Even though I could send it to you I certainly should not, sorry.
UStik is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 02:16 AM
  #5
Charlie
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fredericton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 2,587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

Quote:
Anyway, there's no legal way to get version 5.03 any longer (the copyright issue, you know). Even though I could send it to you I certainly should not, sorry.

From my understanding the copy rights protection for Reflex is the dongle not the software (but I could be wrong). I know there is no copy right protection on the software because I burnt copies of the original ones I have so I don't have to use them, I put the original ones in a safe place and use the copy ones (I don't want the original ones to get scratched).
Charlie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:04 AM
  #6
UStik
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augsburg, GERMANY
Posts: 951
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

That's just fine, but it's not the point. When purchasing, I had to agree to the End User License Agreement which, among other things, forbids to re-distribute the software, regardless of the way of transmission.
UStik is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 01:55 AM
  #7
WLR1974
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Polson, MT
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

As close as I can tell, they might just as well shut the Reflex sight down. There is nothing there any more . . . . . .
And YES! They have been WAY OVER DUE for an Upgrade for quite some time.
WLR1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 04:53 AM
  #8
smudgersmiff
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Suffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

all the updates are here.

[link=http://modelrectifier.com/rc-products/flight-simulators-downloads.asp]Links[/link]

Jeff
smudgersmiff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 08:10 AM
  #9
Strykaas
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

Can anyone explain what happened to Reflex XTR ? Why "don't ask ?" ?

I can understand the Reflex XTR product has been sold by its previous owner but how come is it possible that Reflex XTR2 is available on another web site ? Maybe the new "Reflex XTR" owner forgot to buy the rights on source code ? Well that mesmerizes me.

I had bought reflex for its update potential, but now, updates are scarce and when they come, they're expensive. I have to send 100eur (150 USD) to get that hardware update (new dongle), which finally means a 50% rebate on the following version ! This hardware update should be no more than 20 eur, I will NOT buy it anyway (I doubt a lot will), and stay with my 5.03 version, that I already paid a whopping 220 eur (330 usd) !
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 02:13 PM
  #10
UStik
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Augsburg, GERMANY
Posts: 951
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

You rehashed an old thread but well, I may answer anyway. Don't ask because it's always sad when friends part company. The rights were always and are still owned by the original programmer. He still upgrades the product, even if at slow pace.

Since 5.03 there were not that spectacular but still important improvements you may not appreciate. But consider that I for one had the old dongle for 8 years and had to pay little for software upgrades, nothing for add-ons (because there aren't needed any). Any other simulator had cost more and had a dongle update as well, just hidden in an even more expensive software update. The new dongle was needed for some new features which I had desired for years which may be useless to you, though. With up to 12 channels you may now directly assign channels to controls and get new effects. Calibration is much better and safer. Sound and graphics are better. New fields and models are included. Flight behavior is even better than before, if the parameters are set properly.

These new features seem to be vastly overlooked though, and the new online multiplayer feature is used mostly for gaming instead of seriously flying and trying things together. Reflex is still no gaming simulator, and I'm glad that it isn't, so the only fault I could blame Reflex/SimWerk for is a lack of information. Hope that's the reason for your whine and not the Euros which were not expensive and least of all spent in vain.
UStik is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 04:09 PM
  #11
Strykaas
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

Thanks for having taken the time to shed light on this matter.
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:49 AM
  #12
TheOtherDude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sankt Augustin, GERMANY
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: reflex xtr updates

Greedy software companies... I see now why Chinese copy software/dongles do so well. Outside the Europe/America, the guys simply can't afford to support the industry legally.
TheOtherDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:52 AM.