Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Flight Simulator Software
Reload this Page >

Phoenix Simulator Landing Questions

Community
Search
Notices
RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Phoenix Simulator Landing Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2010, 12:32 PM
RetiredSailor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Phoenix Simulator Landing Questions

I'm new at all this and trying to get better before first flight on a Nitroplanes P-51. Most of the planes I try to land which have flaps, work better with flaps on during landing. The Spitfire, in the scale group, just doesn't seem to work well that way. With flap, I ususally tip stall on landing. I've tried landing faster, without flaps, and that seems to work. I've also tried getting down to ground effect level with flaps and then flipping the them off. That gets me down and keeps the plane on the ground pretty well.

What's the best technique with the Spitfire?

Anybody have an opinion as to which Phoenix model will be closes to a foam P-51 with 57" wingspan? It's 1900 grams ( http://www.nitroplanes.com/93a51-51-...-eretract.html)

Where can I find a good explaination of flare. I read that Ishould flare before landing, but I'm not sure what that is.

Thanks,

G. Jackson

Old 08-22-2010, 01:11 PM
TripleDigitRide

Default RE: Phoenix Simulator Landing Questions

Not sure if this helps, but......

A flare is performed by rotating the wings where the rate of descent will be reduced often by adopting a nose-up attitude. The attitude is held until the undercarriage touches the ground, and the controls are either held until all wheels touch the ground or gently adjusted (in the case of tail-draggers) to ensure the nose-wheel or tail-wheel lightly touches the runway.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYKXYK5SQ5E[/youtube]
Old 08-22-2010, 02:24 PM
Lnewqban

ORIGINAL: RetiredSailor