Community
Search
Notices
RC Fuels Nitromethane, Castor Oil, Synthetic, heli fuel, 4 stroke, etc...Fuel Q&A is here!

Castor Oil Quality

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2002, 07:09 AM
Daddygood

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Castor Oil Quality

I am running 30% Cool Power heli fuel in my saito 4 strokes. This has really helped with idle and overall performance. I would however like to add about 2% castor for insurance against leaning out in the air or corrision. My LHS has gallons of pure castor for sale but I was wondering about the use of medical grade castor(I am a Pharmacist with easy availability). I have seen this mentioned in diesel fuel mixing but am not sure if it would be ok for glow.

Thanks,

[email protected]
Old 02-01-2002, 08:12 PM
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Castor

Daddy, I too would be interested in learning this, I have been using Sig Castor for this, although since I started using WildCat premium Extra, I haven't been doing it. I still throw a little in with my gasoline mixture. By the way my wife is a Pharmacy Tech here in Va.
Old 02-02-2002, 04:12 AM
Fuelman
My Feedback: (6)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Castor added

Gentlemen,
Adding castor to an all synthetic fuel is not a bad thing- Too a point.

Cool Power 30 heli has 23% total oil in it already. It is (according to Morgan's) an all synthetic oil specifically formulated for heli's. From what I was told by Morgan's over the phone, their heli oil is somewhat of a lighter weight (viscosity or hydroxyl) than their non heli synthetics. Yes, your big 4-strokes will will run quite well on it. How they last to some unintentional abuse with the lighter oil, I will not comment upon.