Community
Search
Notices
RC Fuels Nitromethane, Castor Oil, Synthetic, heli fuel, 4 stroke, etc...Fuel Q&A is here!

Fuel Additives

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2002, 07:04 PM
Skidd

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Additives

Hello All,

I'm new to R/C aircraft so I'm green on anything and everything. I have seen a magazine article about fuel additives and was wondering what is the makeup of 2-stroke fuel that we use for glow engines? Does fuel (I use 10%) have additives specifically for engine lubrication or should I buy an oil to add to my fuel? If so, can you recommend an additive if any?

Many Thanks!
Steven
Old 02-18-2002, 09:24 PM
Ed Smith

Default Fuel Additives

If you are new to R/C stay away from messing about with fuel. If you are buying quality fuel from your LHS it has every thing you need in it.

Ed S
Old 02-18-2002, 09:31 PM
Skidd

Default Thanks

This is I wanted to know....thanks!

Steven
Old 02-21-2002, 12:28 AM
DLT
My Feedback: (48)

Default Additives

ED is correct....HOWEVER my last two engine purchases (2 stroke) are calling for preferbly 20% oil content so I already use a good brand of fuel like Wildcat 10 % (18% oil) nitro with 80% of the oil content being synthetic and the other 20 % being castor. After having said all that I simply am adding 3.2 oz. of Klotz Techniplate to each gallon and my engines are loving it....they seem to be running a little cooler and still maintain high RPM. Hope this helps.
Old 03-17-2002, 10:58 PM
A10FLYER

Default Fuel Additives

A great, safe additive is adding one squirt of Armoral, the stuff you clean your car dashboard with, to one gallon of glow fuel.