Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

how to get start on make your own nitro gas

I know i need methanol and some oil to add it in what type of oil is need? This is my first time making my own gas need help is welcome thanks.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: how to get start on make your own nitro gas

Gas? It's not gas. The simplest formulation is 80% methanol and 20% oil by volume. That is for a gallon 25.6 ounces of oil and the remainder is methanol. I suggest going to the Sig, Fox Manufacturing (you need to call for the castor oil), or Morgans (again you will need to call). You can also try Klotz but IMO it is overpriced.
    Glow Head Brotherhood #15

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

so i need castor oil to mix in with methanol 25.6 oz of it per gallon thats it. then put it in the traxxas in it will run.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

is this the oil for skin
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wu60466.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	35.8 KB 
ID:	671879  

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Chances are you will be disappointed with the results of that fuel in that engine. 20% Castor would be too much in a car engine. Most car engines will recommend 20% nitromethane. most car fuels are blended with mainly synthetic lubes and some castor.

Take the time to browse the threads in this forum that are titled "home brew" or "making glow fuel" it gets repeated many times. The easiest thing to do is to find out what the manufacturer recommends for your engine and mix that.
    Greg