RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Fuels (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-fuels-161/)
-   -   Nitro fuel storage. (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-fuels-161/9135571-nitro-fuel-storage.html)

dakotanut 09-30-2009 09:03 AM

Nitro fuel storage.

I recently heard not to store Nitro fuel out in the garage. It will absorb moisture and won't be worth a dang. Is this true? I'm kinda new to Nitro and this was new to me. What other precautions should be made with this stuff? I'm not one to store fuel inside my house. It is very combustible. Thanks.

Fuel Dinosaur 09-30-2009 10:34 AM

RE: Nitro fuel storage.

Please store your fuel in a cool place, in the dark, tightly capped. It is better if stored when the bottle is mostly full, this prevents excess moisture from going from the air in the bottle into the fuel each time you open the bottle. Do not expose your fuel to heat or sparks or static electricity. I do not store my fuels on concrete because moisture from concrete long term can have more moisture get into the bottles, made of HDPE (high density polyethylene). I would NOT store my fuels in glass, or in cans with non-plastic liner lids. Old cans can and may spark if they are old and rusted. That being said, fuel can be stored fairly long term if these precautions are taken. Pure nitro is very dangerous and when heated in an enclosed container, bad results can follow. I DID used to store my fuel in those amber-brown gallon bottles when rat racing and doing control line combat. Luckily, I survived into adulthood. :-) Okay, not even my SECOND childhood, because I never got out of the first. If you treat your fuel much like a bottle of gasoline, you will be on the right track. No sparks, don't store right next to 110v outlets, i.e., just use common sense. Enjoy your flying and I hope this information helps. The old fuel mixing dinosaur.

dakotanut 09-30-2009 10:42 AM