Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Giant Scale Cars
Reload this Page >

New Member: WCM K? Grand National - Strip and Rebuild

Community
Search
Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

New Member: WCM K? Grand National - Strip and Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2010, 04:13 PM
SMC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member: WCM K? Grand National - Strip and Rebuild

Ok Gentz... Newbie here in Minneapolis MN

Got a WCM 1:4 Scale Grand National two days ago.

Sadly, it was in a shop which caught fire.... It wasn't in contact with flames, but the heat was enough to melt the body, foam, tires, rims, plastic heims... etc
Then, the guy let it sit outside since early summer.... Booooo.
I move fast on projects, so first pic is crappy at night in the dark, so you really can't see much. I had already peeled most of the body off the tubing and stuff...

Engine is intact, as is the engine wiring... good compression, good spark. Haven't tried to fuel it yet but I will this weekend.

So far she is stripped. Down to a bare frame.

She is soaking with Aircraft Paint Stripper now, since I don't have immediate sandblast access and I'm impatient.

Parts I have for re-assembly:

USEDPlastic 2 Piece 4 Bolt Wheels (Which I'll need to drill for my 6 bolt hubs) -nice wheels like new,with OK foam and bands
NEWaluminum drive 'sprocket', two new plastic rear 'sprockets'
USEDAluminum shocks, 3 full sets of springs so I have options. No leaks. Good Hardware. Smooth
NEW Clutch arms/pads/spring
NEWRecoil (The one on the engine works, but handle is pretty janky lookin... warped)
10-15 NEWMetal Heims, and 8-10 NEW Plastic Heims
NEWCarb and filter housing
USEDBody, Sponsored by rural suburb bar
Misc other stuff

So, short of a Radio, I have everything I need to get her rockin like new.