RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

50cc throttle problem

Reply
Old 04-10-2011, 06:30 AM
  #1
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 50cc throttle problem

i need a servo that will be strong enough to pull the throttle on a 50cc pocket bike engine http://www.minibikepartsnow.com/MPBN...cc/eg49cc1.jpg. would two 1/10 scale servos work if i gave it enough leverage, or what if i used a spring to assist the servo? Is there just a reg servo that is strong enough? Ive seen the wiper motor servos but i dont understand how they are wired with a reg servo as the sensor. If you know how to wire one and could explain it to me or post a pic that would be absolutely amazing!

Please reply!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl29399.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	1591752   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36329.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	1591753   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43378.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	1591754  
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 02:27 PM
  #2
Lars from Norway
 
Lars from Norway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norheimsund, NORWAY
Posts: 3,155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

Wow! Wiper motor? It is enough with a servo on about 6 kg as the arm is very easy to turn on the carb. Not much force needed to move it. The wiper motors that you have read about are for steering servos on really large cars.
Lars from Norway is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 10:54 PM
  #3
rangerfredbob
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,686
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

it looks like that engine has a mikuni type carb on it they're a little harder to move, for $30 you could get an appropriately sized servo HERE and not have to make anything custom...
rangerfredbob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 12:04 PM
  #4
Rallyfinnen
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

Replace the carb with a good walbro! It will be easier to tune, and you can use a standard servo.
The walbro can suck the fuel from the tank, with that one the tank needs to be higher than the carb.

Rallyfinnen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:59 PM
  #5
Lars from Norway
 
Lars from Norway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norheimsund, NORWAY
Posts: 3,155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

rangerfredbob; i overlooked that part, i know from my time driving my moped that moving the "piston" up and down inside the carb is kind of heavy compared to twist the axle in a Walbro.
Lars from Norway is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 06:11 PM
  #6
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

ye it might just my motor has a hard throttle but it take quite a bit of force to pull it, one on my servos from my 1/10 rc cant do it.
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 06:12 PM
  #7
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

thanks you for the advice i hope it will help
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 08:26 AM
  #8
kenazzo2000
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: paola, MALTA
Posts: 1,665
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

use a 25 kilo servo like i will be using
kenazzo2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 05:23 PM
  #9
da mad maori
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 771
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Lars from Norway

rangerfredbob; i overlooked that part, i know from my time driving my moped that moving the ''piston'' up and down inside the carb is kind of heavy compared to twist the axle in a Walbro.
+1

or replace the cable/spring with a solid wire and no spring
da mad maori is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 02:39 PM
  #10
Lars from Norway
 
Lars from Norway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norheimsund, NORWAY
Posts: 3,155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

That is a very good idea, mad maori! To move the piston itself without the spring attatched is done with little or none effort, so just using a solid rod to move it can be done by almost any servo.
Lars from Norway is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 04:57 PM
  #11
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

Could anyone show me a pic or something of a servo and a wiper motor working together. I'm not too good with reading the diagrams so I need to see the actual thing, or explain how to wire it. Thanks
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 06:51 PM
  #12
tonystott
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ForsterNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

Just get a Hobbyking HV767
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9983
30kg/cm torque is way more than you could ever need

tonystott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:16 PM
  #13
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

so with this walbro carb, how is the gas tank going to work, would i have to just have a hose go to the bottom and a vent on it, or would i need to creat pressure, possibly with the exhaust? how exactly would the whole fueling system work?
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:40 PM
  #14
Lars from Norway
 
Lars from Norway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norheimsund, NORWAY
Posts: 3,155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

The Walbro-carb feeds itself with fuel, this is done via pulses from the crankcase. You will need a hose with a filter on to feed the carb (a clunk in the tank with filter on), and a hose to return the fuel to the tank. And also some sort of ventilation in the tank. No need to create pressure to make it feed from the tank.
Lars from Norway is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 02:43 PM
  #15
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

oh ok i get, thanks i will be getting one shortly
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 05:18 PM
  #16
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

ive been trying to find a clunk for in the tank but i cant find any, also what size hose does the walbro carb need, it doesnt say what the ID of the hose needs to be. this is the one i am looking to buy[img][/img][img][/img][img][/img]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12744.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	1610522   Click image for larger version

Name:	To43671.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	1610523   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va72630.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	1610524  
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 05:35 PM
  #17
proanti1
 
proanti1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Boerne, TX
Posts: 4,299
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

Whats wrong with this clunk?

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXXF25&P=ML
proanti1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:14 PM
  #18
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

i was trying to find one with more of a filter on it
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 12:32 PM
  #19
Fabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: laval, QC, CANADA
Posts: 137
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

One of these should do the trick:

http://www.davesmotors.com/s.nl/c.88...t.A/id.2632/.f
http://www.davesmotors.com/s.nl/c.88...t.A/id.2560/.f

Daves will also have standard fuel line for the carbs if you don't find any...
Fabe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 09:53 AM
  #20
kenazzo2000
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: paola, MALTA
Posts: 1,665
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

ive bought one like yours and started the engine if you wont i can give you the site were i bought it from


kenazzo2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 05:00 PM
  #21
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

that looks great on there, i already found a suitable website for me though, but thanks a lot.
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 05:42 PM
  #22
vugt47
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: zeeland, MI
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc throttle problem

could you tell me what the inside diameter of the hos is that is required for the walbro carb?
vugt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:04 AM.