Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Giant Scale Cars
Reload this Page >

New to Large Scale Cars - Advice Needed

Community
Search
Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

New to Large Scale Cars - Advice Needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2011, 05:48 AM
chunkrc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Large Scale Cars - Advice Needed

Hello all! I am new to RC in it's enirety and obviously new to large scale RC cars. My son has been playing with RC cars for a couple of years now, mainly what you guys seem to call 'on road' cars. He came to me recently though and asked if I could buy him a large scale car for Christmas. I wonder if you guys could give me some pointers as to what I should be buying for a 9 year old. He's very good with normal RC cars and currently races around with a Kyosho Mini-z Buggy. How much of a difference is there when you move to large scale cars? And is there anything I should know when I am talking to a dealer, or just shopping around? Just trying to do mny homework here before I go wasting tons of money and getting taken for a ride.

Thanks in advance
Pete
Old 12-07-2011, 07:03 AM
shandy123

Default RE: New to Large Scale Cars - Advice Needed

hi pete this is only my personal opinion but i think a large scale car for a 9year old is a no no.these are not toys and apart fron the weight they can do ridiculous speeds and in the hands of a child they can be quite dangerous.they cost a good few hundred pounds if you want to buy something good not your 3 to 4 hundred pounds ones plus of course a killer bee engine cut out another £50.as i said this is only my opinion and no offence meant,i'm sure you will get further advise from other members.
Old 12-07-2011, 07:11 AM
chunkrc