RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Reply
Old 08-30-2012, 05:37 AM
  #1
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

For the last 2 years there have been rumors of a 2 speed being realeased for the MCD but due to updates and technical difficulties it just never happened. Frustrated I tried to make my own 2 speed tranny it would work for a little while then fall apart I am no engineer!! Then a friend of mine sold me a FG 3 speed tranny. I was playing around with it when I made the discovery that this tranny would fit on my MCD. The gears mesh I am going to have to make a layshaft no big deal. Here is a picture
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:40 AM
  #2
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

The FG clutch bell shaft is alot longer than the stock MCD clutchbell shaft and you will have to change size of the ball bearing but I think it will work for parking lot bashing I don't race offroad with my MCD.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 08:39 AM
  #3
badboy2
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

do the test!!who made the 3spd ?i kno brcp has 3speed too..
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 09:42 AM
  #4
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

You have good eyes I am using parts from the BRCP 3 speed the clutchbell especially. The clutchbell shaft is long enough to go thru the motor mount plate on the MCD. Enough of the shaft goes thru so I can put on 2 pinions. I plan on testing it as soon as I get my layshaft made.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 06:13 AM
  #5
badboy2
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

look for turboglenn on hpibajaforum he can make you one...he made me one for my baja..just give him specs.
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:00 AM
  #6
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Thanks for the tip Badboy2
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:29 AM
  #7
badboy2
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

he made 2 speed for baja too..the material he used to make my shaft is really tough!
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:45 AM
  #8
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Thanks Badboy2 in the past I had some problems getting the layshaft made so it would hold up. The Mcd is a heavyweight you know everything needs to be on the beefy side.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:27 PM
  #9
badboy2
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

yea im pretty sure he can help you! goodluck!
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:46 PM
  #10
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Update FG 2 speed now mounted in MCD Chassis everything fits.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:34 PM
  #11
bbuzzard
 
bbuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: AshburnVirginia
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Nice!!
bbuzzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:04 PM
  #12
badboy2
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

that looks nice!did you get the shaft from glenn?
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 06:19 AM
  #13
wyattroa
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: , IL,
Posts: 474
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

So is this just going to be custom made one off, or possibly more made?
wyattroa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:19 PM
  #14
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

No I was able to modify the FG shaft, badboy2.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:21 PM
  #15
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: wyattroa

So is this just going to be custom made one off, or possibly more made?
If it works I will show people how they can make one using FG parts.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:27 PM
  #16
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

FG Supply released a improved 2 speed hub for the FG 2 speed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57522.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	137.9 KB
ID:	1809826  
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:02 PM
  #17
badboy2
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

thats good you were able to make your own!i see a new manufacturer hehe
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:22 AM
  #18
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

No badboy2 If it works I would be willing to show how to modify a FG tranny so you could use it on a MCD but I am not interested in manufactoring them don't have the time.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:32 AM
  #19
Anthoop
 
Anthoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Good work Nitro.
Anthoop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:52 AM
  #20
C.lyra
 
C.lyra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hadsten, DENMARK
Posts: 214
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Nice work... Have you tested it yet?? I would like this on my rally...
C.lyra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:45 PM
  #21
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Anthoop

Good work Nitro.
Thanks Anthoop.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:47 PM
  #22
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: C.lyra

Nice work... Have you tested it yet?? I would like this on my rally...
Waiting on new ball bearings for the layshaft and a part from the machine shop.[]
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:17 AM
  #23
GT100
 
GT100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Looking good NH. Let me know if you need any help getting that thing to work. Im not much into 2 speeds but I know the workings and might be able to help out with parts if any.
As far as waiting on people to mass produce things for our rigs, I always felt like if I have the means, I'll do it myself. Im still waiting on a conversion for the twin into a FG. Oh wait, I already have one.
GT100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 01:43 PM
  #24
nitrohead5300
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls, IN
Posts: 3,138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Now if you were to manufactor a kit for putting a inline twin in a FG I would be the first in line to buy one
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 11:22 AM
  #25
C.lyra
 
C.lyra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hadsten, DENMARK
Posts: 214
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I think I have found a 2 speed for my MCD.

Any news on this system?? I just found a FG 2 speed set...
C.lyra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:09 AM.