Community
Search
Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Radio

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2004, 06:10 PM
No Moa
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio

Not to sound like a complete moron, even though i am one {shut it Jared1106} i know little about radios,Can someone explain the crystal and synthesized crap out to me, i am going to buy a 3pm-fs Futaba, and it comes in both, crystal and synthesized. I plan to run with Jared, and amityanimal, and i'm not sure what they are running, i'm also going to set it up for my Revo, and i have 4-5 buddys i run with, and last time we could not run all of us, because of channel probs.

So can someone lay down the 411 on this radio crap, or at least point me to a good article online.
Thanks!!!!
Old 11-09-2004, 06:26 PM
JRexA

Default RE: Radio

I am also a newbie to modern RC equipment, but here is what I have foud out

A Synthesized Transmitter/Receiver set means that you can change the channel very easily.
The Synthesizer gives you the ability to change your channel, without having to buy new crystals. You just Dial in the new channel on both your transmitter and receiver.

On the Crystal Based radios, you need extra Crystal Pairs in order to change the Channel you are running on.

Crystals are cheaper to start with, but if you often run with diferent people it can be a reall pain to find a free channel, unless you have loads of crystal pairs.

Heppy driving from Greenland
Jesper Rex
Old 11-09-2004, 08:28 PM
amitysanimal