Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Giant Scale Cars
Reload this Page >

Need some advice--new to giant scale

Community
Search
Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Need some advice--new to giant scale

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2005, 01:43 PM
paul_c
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some advice--new to giant scale

Hi guys. I've been reading posts, but I'd like some opinions. First off, great forum. I have a few years of rc plane experience, but I'd like to get into cars. I'm leaning towards off-road over on-road (mainly for versatility of surfaces). I know I want giant scale. I know I want gas (as I've had a gas plane with Zenoah). My main question is: Is there a giant scale, gas powered off-road truck/buggy/rally car that I can get as a RTR kit? My main concern is, I know how many hours I put into learning to fly and build planes. If I had to put that many hours into another hobby (i.e. cars), I'm dead, since I'm opening a new business, I road race cars in the summer, etc etc. And I'm not sure how many RC car clubs there are in the area (as compared to plane clubs). I'm willing to dedicate time, but I need RTR and the help of this forum. Can it be done? Best model(s)? Thanks!
Old 02-24-2005, 02:04 PM
geniusgene

Default RE: Need some advice--new to giant scale

you bet, most if not all FG modelsport kits are RTR. They require installation of electronics and painting of the body. A few hrs work at best.

http://www.vsmodelsport.com/home.html
Old 02-24-2005, 05:38 PM
MJT

The cars from FG Modellsport is the solution for you.
They produce gas-powered (use the Zenoah engines) cars in 1:5 - onroads and 1:6 - offroads.
I can recommned their offroad cars - I have an 1:6 Monster Beetle which is powered by a 26ccm Zenoah engine which has an output of 3.9 HP.