RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

What enginge model do I have?

Reply

Old 08-25-2005, 12:47 PM
  #1  
StefanL
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What enginge model do I have?

Hi!

I´m guessing at what engine model I have in my Marder. I assume it´s not a 230, but an older version...

The engine cover is black, with a silver manual or instruction printed on the pull start. Black plug cover, and a round red kill switch. Beside the serial number is printed G2D96.

I´m interested because I´m looking at larger cylinder kits and I´m not sure if the ones for a 230 will fit my engine. I am not sure as to the differences between the Zenoah engines. I´m pretty sure I´l have to get a new carb as well, as I've read the older one is not as good as the new (hopefully! ).

If it is too much hassle I will most likely get a completely new engine, but I´d like to upgrade the one I have if possible.

StefanL

edit: here is a pic

StefanL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 01:13 PM
  #2  
Pigsmightfly
Senior Member
 
Pigsmightfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Suffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

Have a look here mate - http://66.51.113.85/zenoah_engines.html
Pigsmightfly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 01:23 PM
  #3  
JRexA
Senior Member
 
JRexA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nuuk, GREENLAND
Posts: 1,363
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

It sure sounds like you got the Zenoah G2D Engine.

I would recommend that you get a new SiKK 27cc or 29cc engine from http://www.davesmotors.com

Or look at the 27cc Carson Engine from Hobbythek
http://www.rc-car-online.de

Both the Carson and the SiKK are actually CY engines, and they are clones of the Zenoah G260.

You will need new engine mounts as the G2D and the G230/G260 has different mounts.

Since you are inside the EU, it might be easier and cheaper to go the Hobbythek Way, but if you chooses one of the many US shops that cary SiKK, then ask them to ship using USPS, it is often slower but shipping cost is a lot cheaper than FedEx or UPS.
Daves Discount Motors ships using USPS, and they have given me excellent service, but Ok. being in Greenland I am outside the EU VAT(Moms) and Import Tax hassle...
JRexA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 02:15 PM
  #4  
StefanL
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

Thanks guys!

So I have the G2D engine...

What if I want a bigger cylinder on it? For example Oneill has kits for the g23orc, he23hp, st23rc, st27rc, he26hp, and the g23lh motor. These are Sikk engines right? I´ll have to look for kits for Zenoah engines in that case... Do you know of any?

mumblemumblemumble.... so many options!
StefanL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 03:29 PM
  #5  
chevyman_de
Senior Member
 
chevyman_de's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 472
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

Late model cylinders do not fit the G2D engine. The new engines have two cylinder bolts whereas the old ones have 4. And the ports of cylinder and crankcase wouldn't match.
If you considered buying a new cylinder/piston and a carb, you'll better go with a complete new engine. Almost the same money, but all new parts and better performance.
You'll only need to get a new small engine mount, the large one is the same as with the old engine.
chevyman_de is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 03:33 PM
  #6  
chevyman_de
Senior Member
 
chevyman_de's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 472
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

And whatever you do, get a better air filter!!!
The stock unit is bs for offroad.
chevyman_de is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 03:41 PM
  #7  
Mad Wax
Senior Member
 
Mad Wax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

And remove the grass from your dogbones :-)
Mad Wax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 03:57 PM
  #8  
StefanL
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

Haha yeah guys I will!

Just came in from a bit of driving, that´s why the car is waaay dirty.

I agree that a completely new engine is better in the long run, that way I´ll have a spare just in case. A tuned pipe will come first, though. I´ll also get a better filter, I got the car not long ago and my local shops do not stock FG parts, I´ll have to order from abroad. In the meantime I avoid dry dusty areas.

But still the car runs well and I don´t feel an emmediate need for a more powerful engine, hey the car spins the wheels on all surfaces, straight ahead and when turning! The car lacks grip more than power, that´s for sure.
StefanL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 04:14 PM
  #9  
chevyman_de
Senior Member
 
chevyman_de's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 472
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

ORIGINAL: StefanL
But still the car runs well and I don´t feel an emmediate need for a more powerful engine....
Just drive against someone with the new engine. You won't believe how fast you can change your mind.
chevyman_de is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 04:43 PM
  #10  
StefanL
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

And you guys do your best to pull me down, right? I promised myself at first that a tuned pipe would be enough, but now...

StefanL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 12:05 AM
  #11  
chevyman_de
Senior Member
 
chevyman_de's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 472
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

Depending on the pipe the difference between the price for the pipe or the engine may not be that big. But you'll definitely get more power from the new style engine. The new engine with stock "muffler" should outperform its predecessor eqipped with a pipe.
chevyman_de is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 12:36 PM
  #12  
Automan
Senior Member
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Middle Earth, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,201
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

Stefani, i know how you feel, but you will have to get used to that feeling There will never be a time when you are satisfied.... thats the problem i have anyways

I would recommend what most here do, a new engine would give you the best bang for the buck at this stage. But if you decide to go with a tunepipe anyways, thats not bad either, but a good tunepipe will cost a few bucks to my friend. You can actually go with what you want right now.... i mean, if you buy the tunepipe now, you will most certainly get a new engine soon, and vice versa

But first of all, get a real good air filter, not those bling k&n paperfilter crap.
This is a good filter, i use it on my mt and i highly recommend it: http://www.rc-car-online.de/fg_filter_or_eng.htm
Try to get a real good foam filter, then your worries are over, and don't forget to clean it once in a while and oil it and a nice prefilter (you can use something from home, a sock or something) that would be great.
Automan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 05:03 PM
  #13  
StefanL
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , SWEDEN
Posts: 313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

Thanks Automan and you others.

I have been looking at the exact same filter you recommend Automan, good and cost effective. I´ll order it and have it by wednesday or thursday... I´ll use a sock until then.

I´ll keep my eyes open for a good used 260 later on. It is more a matter of what good used parts that happen to come my way in the future, engine or pipe.

Stefan
StefanL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 09:20 AM
  #14  
madgti
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What enginge model do I have?

ANy of you guys ever ran a SIkk engine in a rc boat? I am thinking of goign this route instead of a homelite
madgti is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service