RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

On/Off Switch

Reply
Old 11-06-2005, 07:59 PM
  #1
AIRSAVAGE
Thread Starter
 
AIRSAVAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default On/Off Switch

I've noticed a lot of people don't have their on/off switch in the pre-made place on the MT. Where do you guys put it? I can tell that my switch is getting hard to move, probably getting too dirty.
Thanks
AIRSAVAGE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 08:06 PM
  #2
USABaja5B
 
USABaja5B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: , AZ
Posts: 732
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

I didn't notice the pre-made location, and there were no directions. So, I used a dremel to cut a slot into the radio box. After that, i noticed the other location.
USABaja5B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:13 PM
  #3
rainman777
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wagga Wagga NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

Many people don't use switches and just connect up the battery direct. Switches are prone to failure (as you have seen they get pretty cruddy) and that can lead to a runaway.
rainman777 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 05:41 AM
  #4
HeatFire
 
HeatFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Posts: 572
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

i made a smal plastic part that i secure the switch so it wont set to off in a crash or bad landing

seems to work.. just have to tighten the screw often
HeatFire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 06:01 AM
  #5
Mad Wax
 
Mad Wax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

Used tie wraps to secure it around the front right rollcage - between the fuel tank and RC plate. It's a waterproof switch not the rubbish Futaba standard switches so it should be ok with water/dirt (my other one was intermittent after a while)
Mad Wax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 06:54 AM
  #6
HeatFire
 
HeatFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Posts: 572
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

hmm i used the same silicone i used to protect my diff it works just fine used silicone for the net on the pull start to

long live silicone
HeatFire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 08:23 AM
  #7
teamchrome
 
teamchrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: covington, WA
Posts: 1,460
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

This is what I made to secure the on/off switch. Simple but works very well..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74963.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	150.8 KB
ID:	350134   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ro41608.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	151.9 KB
ID:	350135  
teamchrome is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 09:07 AM
  #8
HeatFire
 
HeatFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Posts: 572
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

okej.. i took your idea teamchrome... but i made the.. hmm arm that goes out double... so that not the securing part wont jump off so easy even if the screw is to loose

idiot safe:P

but that's a really great idea
HeatFire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 07:31 PM
  #9
AIRSAVAGE
Thread Starter
 
AIRSAVAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

THanks yall. Just curious where you got he waterproof switch Mad Wax?
AIRSAVAGE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 07:30 AM
  #10
badz
 
badz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Syracuse, UT
Posts: 2,216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

Stuffing the switch in a balloon works....wrap the balloon around it...keeps most anything out or buy one with the rubber boot installed...radioshack has them so does napa autoparts
badz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 11:32 AM
  #11
Pigsmightfly
 
Pigsmightfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Suffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On/Off Switch

Get the red FG battery connectors and attach to the side of the radio box. Easily accessible with shell on and a lot more reliable than switches, I've had switches turn themself off due to vibration in the past.
Pigsmightfly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:01 PM.