Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1
    AIRSAVAGE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cary, NC
    Posts
    165
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    On/Off Switch

    I've noticed a lot of people don't have their on/off switch in the pre-made place on the MT. Where do you guys put it? I can tell that my switch is getting hard to move, probably getting too dirty.
    Thanks
    HPI Baja 5b, HPI WHeely King w/4WS, Blade mSR2, Axial SCX10 2012 Jeep, HPI Sprint 2, Futaba 4PL

  2. #2
    USABaja5B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    , AZ
    Posts
    732
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    I didn't notice the pre-made location, and there were no directions. So, I used a dremel to cut a slot into the radio box. After that, i noticed the other location.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    54
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    Many people don't use switches and just connect up the battery direct. Switches are prone to failure (as you have seen they get pretty cruddy) and that can lead to a runaway.

  4. #4
    HeatFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Stockholm, SWEDEN
    Posts
    572
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    i made a smal plastic part that i secure the switch so it wont set to off in a crash or bad landing

    seems to work.. just have to tighten the screw often
    Savage X, STS D30M

  5. #5
    Mad Wax's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,170
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    Used tie wraps to secure it around the front right rollcage - between the fuel tank and RC plate. It's a waterproof switch not the rubbish Futaba standard switches so it should be ok with water/dirt (my other one was intermittent after a while)

  6. #6
    HeatFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Stockholm, SWEDEN
    Posts
    572
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    hmm i used the same silicone i used to protect my diff it works just fine used silicone for the net on the pull start to

    long live silicone
    Savage X, STS D30M

  7. #7
    teamchrome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    covington, WA
    Posts
    1,460
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    This is what I made to secure the on/off switch. Simple but works very well..
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ay74963.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	150.8 KB 
ID:	350134   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ro41608.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	151.9 KB 
ID:	350135  
    http://community.webshots.com/user/Teamchrome
    W.I.F.E.... Woman Involved in Financial Endeavors.

  8. #8
    HeatFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Stockholm, SWEDEN
    Posts
    572
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    okej.. i took your idea teamchrome... but i made the.. hmm arm that goes out double... so that not the securing part wont jump off so easy even if the screw is to loose

    idiot safe:P

    but that's a really great idea
    Savage X, STS D30M

  9. #9
    AIRSAVAGE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cary, NC
    Posts
    165
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    THanks yall. Just curious where you got he waterproof switch Mad Wax?
    HPI Baja 5b, HPI WHeely King w/4WS, Blade mSR2, Axial SCX10 2012 Jeep, HPI Sprint 2, Futaba 4PL

  10. #10
    badz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Syracuse, UT
    Posts
    2,216
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    Stuffing the switch in a balloon works....wrap the balloon around it...keeps most anything out or buy one with the rubber boot installed...radioshack has them so does napa autoparts
    Club Saito #152
    Revver Brotherhood #146

  11. #11
    Pigsmightfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Suffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    324
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: On/Off Switch

    Get the red FG battery connectors and attach to the side of the radio box. Easily accessible with shell on and a lot more reliable than switches, I've had switches turn themself off due to vibration in the past.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.