Community
Search
Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

New to FG

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2006, 12:35 AM
mookins

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to FG

Firstly, what does FG stand for exactly? something Giant?

Secondly, I am new to 1/5th scale. I just bought a second hand car to use as my university project. Developing a traction control and ABS braking system (using electromagnetic actuated disc brakes on all fours), along with an alternator to power the whole system. I will be making all the plans available for anyone who wants to build it when we are done

Anyway, regarding 1/5th scale, I am just after some pointers on where to buy stuff? I am in Australia but I don't mind ordering internationally. I am basically after some wheels and tyres currently. I am also trying to source some K&N filters. Perhaps someone can suggest a good online store with them?

Also I had a question regarding the exhaust header. Does the length of this make much difference or is it once it hits the tuned exhaust part that the length matters? I ask this because i need to reroute the exhaust to one side of the car to get the alternator and electrics to fit. Also, is titanium a good exhaust material because when I fabricate a new header, this will be the material of choice. I can't see why it wouldn't be, but just in case someone has heard or knows something I don't.

-Mikey
Old 06-18-2006, 02:02 AM
propjets4me

Default RE: New to FG

Hey mookins, welcome to the club, first off FG ( i think) are taken from the owners name , his initals are FG..I always said it stands for "freakin good" as for spares the main FG guy in Australia is chequered flag racing up in Brissy, but there are other places that stock some spares like alro racing

http://www.alroracingaustralia.com.au/