RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Engine break in procedure?

Reply

Old 07-05-2007, 06:05 PM
  #1  
NitroBurn1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , CO
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine break in procedure?

I have been going buy the Firehammer instructions because the Smartech ones suck. The Duratrax manual says to run 2 tanks without adjusting the high end, so I just adjusted the carb enough to keep the engine running, and drove around not going to fast, but the engine was pretty boggy. Is this good for the engine, because my plug is fouled quite a bit.
NitroBurn1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 07:02 PM
  #2  
wyd
Senior Member
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

I have a FH as well. I just mixed the my oil/gas ratio to 32 to 1 and run it. I dondn't run it ver hard the first tank but ran at varying speeds. After that I actually had ti richen my lowend from the factory setting to take away some of my lowend bogging. I leaned the highend just so it it cleaned itself out good.

I did put a pipe on now after two tankfuls and changed my settings a little. I actually had to lean the highend end out some to get it to run good and again had to richen my lowend a tad to get it to not bog. It runs like a champ.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 07:22 PM
  #3  
NitroBurn1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , CO
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

Thanks for the info. Sounds like you done it pretty much the same as I am. Just came in from running the second tank, and im getting it tuned about right, but i can't get the idle set right. The idle screw is all the way down, and it still is to much.
NitroBurn1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 07:35 PM
  #4  
MrMikeG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mildura, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,056
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

Technically the engines don't need break in but I always run them varying the speed for 3 or 4 tanks, after about 10 tanks you will hear the engine lossen up and pick up even more speed. Once in a while the needles vibrate and tune themselves, make sure your needles are tight and don't leak air or move around on you.
MrMikeG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 08:46 PM
  #5  
teamchrome
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
teamchrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: covington, WA
Posts: 1,460
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

Grip it and rip it.
What was the breakin procedure you used on you lawnmower or weed wacker??
Or your 2cycle motorcycle.
teamchrome is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 09:10 PM
  #6  
NitroBurn1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , CO
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?


ORIGINAL: teamchrome

Grip it and rip it.
What was the breakin procedure you used on you lawnmower or weed wacker??
Or your 2cycle motorcycle.
Thats what i told myself today, i didn't break in my chainsaw, and it works fine. There are so many opinions on breakin, I now think its all a bunch of BS.
NitroBurn1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 10:13 PM
  #7  
wyd
Senior Member
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?


ORIGINAL: NitroBurn1

Thanks for the info. Sounds like you done it pretty much the same as I am. Just came in from running the second tank, and im getting it tuned about right, but i can't get the idle set right. The idle screw is all the way down, and it still is to much.
If you richen the lowend just a little it will bring your idle down. Mine is about 1/4 richer than when it came out of the box. So I acutally ended up turning up a my idle some.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 09:02 PM
  #8  
NitroBurn1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , CO
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?


ORIGINAL: wyd


ORIGINAL: NitroBurn1

Thanks for the info. Sounds like you done it pretty much the same as I am. Just came in from running the second tank, and im getting it tuned about right, but i can't get the idle set right. The idle screw is all the way down, and it still is to much.
If you richen the lowend just a little it will bring your idle down. Mine is about 1/4 richer than when it came out of the box. So I acutally ended up turning up a my idle some.

I got it running good today, and as you said I had to richen the lowend.
NitroBurn1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 09:06 PM
  #9  
TheFgMan01
Senior Member
 
TheFgMan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

i just drove mine.. these arent nitro engine's.... ever hear of anyone breaking in a weedeater they just bought from lowes?
TheFgMan01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 09:26 PM
  #10  
wyd
Senior Member
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?


ORIGINAL: NitroBurn1


ORIGINAL: wyd


ORIGINAL: NitroBurn1

Thanks for the info. Sounds like you done it pretty much the same as I am. Just came in from running the second tank, and im getting it tuned about right, but i can't get the idle set right. The idle screw is all the way down, and it still is to much.
If you richen the lowend just a little it will bring your idle down. Mine is about 1/4 richer than when it came out of the box. So I acutally ended up turning up a my idle some.
Great. Glad you have it running better.


I got it running good today, and as you said I had to richen the lowend.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 05:39 AM
  #11  
Bratch96
Senior Member
 
Bratch96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stonington, IL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

The best thing to do, any time you run it, is let it warm up real good before running wide open.
Bratch96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 06:37 AM
  #12  
ttoks
Senior Member
 
ttoks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: leongatha,VIC, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,735
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

i don't know what your all on but a weed whacker aint an rc engine, it takes a good 20 hours of running to break in a two stroke motorbike properly, and if you have any brains at all you'll break it in properly.

if you thrash your car when it's new you will stuff it, it takes a good 6'000 mile sto run a car in, two stroke are a lot simpler and thus doint need as long to break in but that doesn't mean go thrashing it around and don't worry about break in, all the components still need to be seated properly just like any other engine, at the very very minimum run it with more oil for the first gallon or two.

in all rights to get the best life out of your yard equipment you will run it in, but with yard equipment your always varying the rpm anyway so it isn't as important to do a proper break in.
ttoks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 06:47 AM
  #13  
jimbo1890
Senior Member
 
jimbo1890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: N.S.W., AUSTRALIA
Posts: 839
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

i don't know what your all on but a weed whacker aint an rc engine, it takes a good 20 hours of running to break in a two stroke motorbike properly, and if you have any brains at all you'll break it in properly.

if you thrash your car when it's new you will stuff it, it takes a good 6'000 mile sto run a car in, two stroke are a lot simpler and thus doint need as long to break in but that doesn't mean go thrashing it around and don't worry about break in, all the components still need to be seated properly just like any other engine, at the very very minimum run it with more oil for the first gallon or two.
I'm with you ttocks.

These zenoah engines rev to around 18000rpm stock which is probably around three times your average weedwacker engine which has to comply with EPA rules for both sound and efficiency. This is also why a top quality oil is also recomended.

jimbo.
jimbo1890 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 11:05 AM
  #14  
cyclops1970
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton Ontario , CANADA
Posts: 1,161
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_51...tm.htm#5167758
cyclops1970 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 11:39 AM
  #15  
Dave ESPI
 
Dave ESPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rotterdam, NY
Posts: 1,761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

When I was a kid, I ran my own lawn mowing buisiness, I was told by the powers that be ( DAD and the Salesman) to Read the instruction manual and know everything there is to know about my equipment BEFORE running it. Safety First !

I broke in my motors by running them as instructed, and it really does make a difference.

I still have the same string trimmer, push mower, and chainsaw to this day BECAUSE I properly maintained and broke in the engines. The trimmer has well over 10,000 hours run time on it and sits in my parents garage and is used every week still to this day. Quality takes care of you if you take care of the basics.

Even with a new car (real automobile) they say right in the owners instruction manual, do not abuse the motor. It requires a break in period of about 5000 miles................. but no-one ever reads that silly old book.......
Dave ESPI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 12:29 PM
  #16  
teamchrome
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
teamchrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: covington, WA
Posts: 1,460
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?


Im REALLY certain that Earthsufer knows what he is talking abou.. If you know who he is..
You can follow your buddys idea of breakin or take it from a builder of engines like Earthsurfer..
teamchrome is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 02:34 PM
  #17  
cyclops1970
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton Ontario , CANADA
Posts: 1,161
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?


ORIGINAL: teamchrome


Im REALLY certain that Earthsufer knows what he is talking abou.. If you know who he is..
You can follow your buddys idea of breakin or take it from a builder of engines like Earthsurfer..
BINGO ...
cyclops1970 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 08:23 AM
  #18  
Bratch96
Senior Member
 
Bratch96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stonington, IL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

If Earth Surfer says you don't need to break it in, then you don't. Who can really wait anyway?
Bratch96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 02:11 PM
  #19  
Earth Surfer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine break in procedure?

Pro motocross mechanics would have their racers break in a new engine during practice---then race that same day. IMO, the ring is about the only part that could use a break in. Usually in two tanks, it is sealed all around the cylinder. I run them hard, so the higher cylinder pressure presses the ring against the cylinder wall with more pressure, to seat it quicker. this prevents blow by. A long break in may promote blow by IMO.

Here is one article that I agree with. It makes more sense to me.

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm
Earth Surfer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service