RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

fuel filter?

Reply

Old 07-07-2007, 09:43 AM
  #1  
mbe301
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mbe301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 468
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default fuel filter?

Is there any need for a in-line fuel filter? Can a nitro filter be used, or would it restrict the flow (nitro tubing is smaller, right?)
Thanks
mbe301 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 11:42 AM
  #2  
Dave ESPI
 
Dave ESPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rotterdam, NY
Posts: 1,761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fuel filter?

Just get a large scale aircraft filter from your LHS that is rated for gasoline.
Dave ESPI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 10:13 PM
  #3  
Bratch96
Senior Member
 
Bratch96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stonington, IL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fuel filter?

I would think one from Home Depot or Lowes would work.
Bratch96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 10:17 PM
  #4  
PAPE
Senior Member
 
PAPE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fuel filter?


The FG's have a nice big filter in the tank (filter clunk) there is no need for one, I currently do run a small Nitro fuel filter in my line for looks.
PAPE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 10:39 PM
  #5  
huw4027
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Old Harbour, JAMAICA
Posts: 811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fuel filter?

The Dubro fuel filters will work well. [8D]
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...=++&search3=Go
huw4027 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 10:44 AM
  #6  
cyclops1970
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton Ontario , CANADA
Posts: 1,161
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fuel filter?

no need for another filter " IF" your clunk tank filter is good , the more you cut your lines the chances there are for other problems "leaking , air etc " just my 2 cents
cyclops1970 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 03:20 PM
  #7  
crrcboatz
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oologah, OK
Posts: 367
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fuel filter?


ORIGINAL: cyclops1970

no need for another filter " IF" your clunk tank filter is good , the more you cut your lines the chances there are for other problems "leaking , air etc " just my 2 cents
I replace all fuel lines with tygon large fuel line all the way into the tank. I use an external dubro and drill out the in and outlets with a 3/32 drill bit and use snug ties on every joint on the line to and including the carb. That danged black stuff that comes stock is bad stuff.

Curt
crrcboatz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service