RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Hitec 5745MG Servo

Reply

Old 07-16-2007, 07:58 PM
  #1  
huw4027
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Old Harbour, JAMAICA
Posts: 811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5745MG Servo

I am not trying to thrash this servo but just to share my experiences with it
which are not quite good. While the servo works very well it is not durable
at all because i have had two of them go bad on me on two different rides.[:@]
Is it just me or is anyone else having problems with it.[8D]
huw4027 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:03 PM
  #2  
sugelle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , MO
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

I've used Hitec digital servos in all my trucks (T Maxx, Savage and CEN Genesis) and 1/8 scale nitro buggies and never had any issues (knock on wood). Maybe just bad luck for you? Did you set your EPA so you're not stressing the servos trying to work past the end points?
sugelle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:13 PM
  #3  
huw4027
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Old Harbour, JAMAICA
Posts: 811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo


ORIGINAL: sugelle

I've used Hitec digital servos in all my trucks (T Maxx, Savage and CEN Genesis) and 1/8 scale nitro buggies and never had any issues (knock on wood). Maybe just bad luck for you? Did you set your EPA so you're not stressing the servos trying to work past the end points?
This is a 1/4 scale servo so it can't be used on nitro vehicles.I have both the 5645MG & 5995TG on my nitros and no problems there. [8D]
huw4027 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:08 PM
  #4  
fgbasher
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
fgbasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Monroe Township, NJ
Posts: 866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

If you don't set the end point adjustment to 90-95% max you will fry the servo. If you plug in the servo and it goes bad immediately, then the board is shot(happens due to shipping, etc). If it is working for a while than craps out, your epa is too high and you probably burned the board out.
fgbasher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:21 PM
  #5  
Dave ESPI
 
Dave ESPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rotterdam, NY
Posts: 1,761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

RC NUT is correct. I toasted my 805 that I use for stearing as it was not set up with the TX for end point adjustment, and I would be able to "slap" the wheels right and left. It eventualy just died out and wouldn't turn right ( left only) occasionaly so I replaced it, and found out about the ratio setting ( of course AFTER IT HAPPENED.. ARGH)
Dave ESPI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 04:27 PM
  #6  
sugelle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , MO
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo


ORIGINAL: huw4027


ORIGINAL: sugelle

I've used Hitec digital servos in all my trucks (T Maxx, Savage and CEN Genesis) and 1/8 scale nitro buggies and never had any issues (knock on wood). Maybe just bad luck for you? Did you set your EPA so you're not stressing the servos trying to work past the end points?
This is a 1/4 scale servo so it can't be used on nitro vehicles.I have both the 5645MG & 5995TG on my nitros and no problems there. [8D]

Sorry...I realize that the 5745MG is 1/4 scale..I forgot to mention that I have been using one in my Baja with no issues and in general I have used the HiTec brand for several years without any issues in my 1/8 scale buggy and other vehicles.
sugelle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 04:54 PM
  #7  
huw4027
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Old Harbour, JAMAICA
Posts: 811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

I have the 805bb in both my Baja 5B and my Cat Sportline Truck and there are
no problems. [8D]
huw4027 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 11:24 PM
  #8  
Big Boys Toys and Hobbies
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: vicksburg, MS
Posts: 519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

Huw4027, When I set up your cat truck I set the EPA for you. Over stressing the servo will make them go out.
Big Boys Toys and Hobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 11:44 PM
  #9  
VegaNate
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nibley, UT
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

I have burned up 2 in my MCD Monster. Both on the throttle. I guess now I know what is making them go out. Hopefully Hitec will fix them if I send them back. Thanks for the info guys!--nate
VegaNate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 04:06 AM
  #10  
PAPE
Senior Member
 
PAPE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

ok I am a bit confused here. I have burnt 3 of them on my 4th now. I always set the servo with the front tires in the air and adjust it one side at a time till the knucle arm stopers just rest against the A-arm, not forced just resting next to it, my epa may be something like 120% one side and 126% the other side, but the servo is never forced. What yours all saing is to adjust my endpoint to 95%?? If I do this I wont have full stearing meaning my turning radious will be bigger, is this what your all saing?
PAPE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 04:10 AM
  #11  
PAPE
Senior Member
 
PAPE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

ohh and about the board, I have never had one that the board burns, I have opened them all and the board and the rails are all intact, thre are some black rectangular things with a hole on them and 3 legs, thats what burns on my servos not the board
PAPE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 07:55 AM
  #12  
sugelle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , MO
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

Pape,

The object is to set the servo End Point Adjustment (EPA) so that it does not try to work past its physical limits. I normally find that limit and then back it off several clicks. Their is no target percentage that I use, it varies by application. If you need help setting it, take it to your LHS or fellow racer and they can show you how. That's what I used to do before I got the hang of it.
sugelle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 09:52 AM
  #13  
8000ft
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: winterpark, CO
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

In this application (fgmt5 steering) this servo sucks...............it's just to much abuse for it. Even when the EPAs are set right the strain of keeping those big tires pointed in a continous turn just burns the digi up in no time. I went through three of them untill I went to the dual 805 set up, sense then I haven't had any more steering issues.

Do you really need digi for steering an off road truck? On road I can see it where an exact line through a turn is manditory, but in off roading straight lines are borring.
8000ft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 09:59 AM
  #14  
fgbasher
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
fgbasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Monroe Township, NJ
Posts: 866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

I have had a hitec 5735 in my Monster Beetle for 3 years and it still works perfect. In all my vehicles, I have only had one 5745 burn out and that was when I first plugged it in to test it. Every single FG i set up with these servos and set the epa to 95%, to this date I have not had one customer come back to say the servo burnt out. That is going on over 3 1/2 years and probably over 100 vehicles.

The servos burn out when you are doing wide long turns with the servo extended to the extreme left or right for a long period of time. The board in the servo heats up under the stress and it blows the resisters causing the servo to fail. Hitec does not alway warranty the servos if it is drive error. if you are sending them back, just say you plugged it in to test it and it did not work from the start. (make sure the servo is spotless. If they see proof of the case being opened, they will not warranty the servo. Just an fyi out there.
fgbasher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 01:20 PM
  #15  
Dave ESPI
 
Dave ESPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rotterdam, NY
Posts: 1,761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo


ORIGINAL: PAPE

ok I am a bit confused here. I have burnt 3 of them on my 4th now. I always set the servo with the front tires in the air and adjust it one side at a time till the knucle arm stopers just rest against the A-arm, not forced just resting next to it, my epa may be something like 120% one side and 126% the other side, but the servo is never forced. What yours all saing is to adjust my endpoint to 95%?? If I do this I wont have full stearing meaning my turning radious will be bigger, is this what your all saing?

PAPE, If you are running a DX3 radio, you can utelize the *C button on your TX to override the ratios you set, and get full response range for stearing. There is a set-up screen option for it in the AUX section of your programming.
Dave ESPI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 02:09 AM
  #16  
PAPE
Senior Member
 
PAPE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo


ORIGINAL: Dave ESPI


ORIGINAL: PAPE

ok I am a bit confused here. I have burnt 3 of them on my 4th now. I always set the servo with the front tires in the air and adjust it one side at a time till the knucle arm stopers just rest against the A-arm, not forced just resting next to it, my epa may be something like 120% one side and 126% the other side, but the servo is never forced. What yours all saing is to adjust my endpoint to 95%?? If I do this I wont have full stearing meaning my turning radious will be bigger, is this what your all saing?

PAPE, If you are running a DX3 radio, you can utelize the *C button on your TX to override the ratios you set, and get full response range for stearing. There is a set-up screen option for it in the AUX section of your programming.

Dave I use a M8 on all my cars for over 5 years I have always set the end point adjusment correctly but the servos always burn I dont know why all of them the same way they turn one way but not the other, I was thinking of going with the dual servo stering I think that the only way to overcome burning the servos well the cheap 1/4 scale servos.
PAPE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 05:20 AM
  #17  
jasrx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

when i had my FG MT i went through 2 gear sets on the steering servo using the 5745 MG servo ..
but i dont have any steering troubles anymore cause the FG MT went to a new home
jasrx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 12:55 PM
  #18  
Dave ESPI
 
Dave ESPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rotterdam, NY
Posts: 1,761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

JASRX... lol.. yeah, that WOULD be a solution.... but not one I want to do at this point in time.

PAPE, ther is a partial metal gear build kit that came out as a hop up for the 805 with the HPI buggy that replaces some the plastic ones in the HITEC servo. Python Racing has it on their site. A dual set up may be the way to go, but not sure yet. Obviously 2 servos doing the load of one is easier on the gears, but the circut boards are what take the damages I fear.
Dave ESPI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 01:07 PM
  #19  
PAPE
Senior Member
 
PAPE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

I have not only burnt the hitecs but also the hobbicos and now I am giving a try at the towerhobbies servo and so far so good, but if it burns I will do a dual set up

ohh and I have never broken a gear only the spline on time on a hitec, real easy quik fix when you got many of the same servos burnt in your tool box
PAPE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 04:16 PM
  #20  
TheFgMan01
Senior Member
 
TheFgMan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

Ooop's My EPA has be set at 125 for the longest time on both R/C's but they havent burned out on me.. only time i replaced it was when my truck went for a swim last winter. on accident though. all my LHS carries is for large scale is the 5745. but i'd like to find something stronger for the truck eventually. But there good enough for buggies
TheFgMan01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 04:38 PM
  #21  
Vette09
Senior Member
 
Vette09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ridge, NY
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

The only servos that I would consider better are the Multiplex Rhino and the Tonnegawa ps-050. The Tonnegawa servo is a robot servo and there is a guy, Ian Oddie, in Europe that modifies them. I don't know the exact specs but its somewhere around 40 kg/cm at 6 volts and 50 kg/cm at 7.4 volts with a transit speed of around .12 sec. It also weighs around 10 oz, so it's pretty heavy. Considering the Hitec 5745 puts out 18 kg/cm, I'd say thats a lot of torque. I run a 5745 myself because of the availability of the Hitec and the price. It's a great servo for the money, I think the Tonnegawa servo is something like 300$ - 400$. But it is the best of the best from the research I have done. If they were more available here in the states, I would definitely have one in my FG Competition and my Marder buggy. Hell, I'd probably throw one in my Savage too!
Vette09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 04:43 PM
  #22  
sugelle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , MO
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

I thought the Multiplex Rhino DIGI 4 was actually rated less torque than the 5745MG???
sugelle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 05:09 PM
  #23  
Vette09
Senior Member
 
Vette09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ridge, NY
Posts: 412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 5745MG Servo

I believe the Rhino is rated around 24 kg/cm. The Hitec is 18 kg/cm.
Vette09 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service