RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Smartech Bigfoot

Reply

Old 07-24-2007, 12:39 AM
  #1  
Nathan9492
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Nathan9492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,395
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Smartech Bigfoot

Hey guys just wondering
Do CY Or Zenoah engines fit the Smartech Bigfoot?, if so which ones do fit.


Cheers,
Nathan
Nathan9492 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:33 AM
  #2  
mopar jake
Senior Member
 
mopar jake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: lancaster, OH
Posts: 117
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smartech Bigfoot

it comes with the cy so the cy fits
mopar jake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:30 AM
  #3  
MrMikeG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mildura, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,056
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smartech Bigfoot

Mine came with a zenoah! The RC style engines fit. If you change motors you should get a metal motor mount at the same time.
MrMikeG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:19 AM
  #4  
Nathan9492
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Nathan9492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,395
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smartech Bigfoot

Thanx guys, Use guys rock, Where do i get the MEtal Motor Mounts.

tahnx
Nathan
Nathan9492 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 07:39 AM
  #5  
Skitzyrex
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smartech Bigfoot

http://www.rc-car-online-shop.de/lsh...ng_alu,,,,.htm

This place should sort you out. Remember that smartech and carson are pretty much the same.
Skitzyrex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:44 PM
  #6  
kengentry5000
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
kengentry5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,331
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smartech Bigfoot

Hellya, the guy at fg-hopus.com was selling the HobbyThek (rc-car-online.de) alloy engine mounts for a while. He has had some trouble fullfilling orders recently but is a good guy to work with overall.

He sells the engine mounts for $90 plus shipping (he's in the Seattle area). I'd shoot him an email to see if he has any on hand ready to ship. If hellya doesn't have any on hand to ship then he will have to order from HobbyThek himself.

I'd also recommend the HobbyThek steel pinion for the Smartech truck. This is the gear that sits on the clutch bell on the engine. If you have a plastic pinion gear it will strip easy. fg-hopups.com sold me one for $30.

HobbyThek's shipping is steep at $40 USD and takes a while.

Another option for the alloy engine mounts is to go with an FG alloy small engine mount. The FG large engine mount will NOT work. I put a small alloy mount on and left the large mount plastic. I was able to Lock-tite the small mount screws down real tight. I haven't had any issues at all with engine movement. You can get an FG small alloy engine mount for less than $30 from several US dealers.
kengentry5000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:06 PM
  #7  
NitroBurn1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , CO
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smartech Bigfoot

My Smartech Spider came with an engine that has a three bolt head instead of two like a cy or zenoah. It has no markings of manufacture on it. I wonder if its a new design cy engine?
NitroBurn1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:36 PM
  #8  
kengentry5000
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
kengentry5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,331
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Smartech Bigfoot

My Firehammer stock engine had a 'CY' on the front of the serial number which is on the crankcase. I believe my Zenoah G260 starts with a 'G'.

Don't know if that will help.

To answer the original question, the CY, SIKK and Zenoah RC engines have the same mount points so you can use the same mounts.
kengentry5000 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service