RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!

Reply

Old 08-13-2007, 03:35 PM
  #1  
voo2doo
Thread Starter
 
voo2doo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: flintshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 428
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!

Hi ya fellas,been trying to set the cable brakes on my MT but to avail,every time i think there right they either don't pull right or when the wheels are on full lock they are slightly applied[&o] I have them connected to a MULTIPLEX JUMBO so I know its not the servo.
Any idea's as i'm getting very pi$%ed off with them and thinking of a listing on e-bay.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Regards
james.
voo2doo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 05:27 PM
  #2  
hndaman1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
hndaman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: sheboygan, WI
Posts: 2,242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!

can you post some pics of the setup you have? this might help us out...
hndaman1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 05:56 PM
  #3  
vtl1180ny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Plainview, NY
Posts: 1,005
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!

I just came up from the garage trying to get my rear brakes adjusted, pulling my hair out... I want them to lock and then I'll adjust the amount of force via the end point on the controller... I got the fronts working fine, the rears are kicking my butt...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 11:29 PM
  #4  
slicrick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: milpitas, CA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!

i know how you feel,i just spent 2 days on tweaking the front disk brakes to work correctly,just about fed up with them,im thinkn about removing them
slicrick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 11:51 PM
  #5  
TheFgMan01
Senior Member
 
TheFgMan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!

im tired of messing with those cable and stock rear brakes myself... when i get a chance im ordering a alloy servo plat, servo and hyro brakes!! I bet it'll stop then
TheFgMan01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 12:45 AM
  #6  
Baja5BLST
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!


ORIGINAL: TheFgMan01

im tired of messing with those cable and stock rear brakes myself... when i get a chance im ordering a alloy servo plat, servo and hyro brakes!! I bet it'll stop then
Screw up Hydros, and you have an even worse problems upon your hands
Baja5BLST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:27 AM
  #7  
TheFgMan01
Senior Member
 
TheFgMan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!

Are those hydros very finaky or something?? i thought they would be alot easier to work with
TheFgMan01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 02:37 AM
  #8  
Baja5BLST
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!


ORIGINAL: TheFgMan01

Are those hydros very finaky or something?? i thought they would be a lot easier to work with
If you accidently activate the hydro while there is no disk on there, then you have the good ol time of having to force the pistons back to neutral, which of course requires opening the valve, so the brake fluid can flow out, so the piston will actually compress. Then once you finally fix the piston, you have to refill the fluids, and have to set the brakes up.
I did it on my Mtn. Bike, and trust me, I had such a fun time doing it. [:@]
Baja5BLST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 02:49 AM
  #9  
voo2doo
Thread Starter
 
voo2doo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: flintshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 428
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Disc brake set-up AHHHHHH!!!!!

Bollix to this!!!!![:@] Anyone want to buy front and rear disc set up used for about 2 mins........Can't be arsed with these now just had another go at them and getting soooooo fed up!Sorry hndaman 1 can't put pics up as the baby has took to my USB lead as a teething device So fellas if ya want to pull your hair out setting these up there on the market.
Regards
James( the pi$£ed-off!)
voo2doo is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service