RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

tuning a pipe

Reply

Old 12-30-2008, 10:56 PM
  #1  
drewcrew6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , PA
Posts: 166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default tuning a pipe

Does anyone know the formula to design a tuned pipe? Everything I can find is set to the size of engine and you plug in a bunch of stuff and presto here's your pipe.
Looking for either the math or something that allows you to change engine size.

Thanks
Drewcrew6
drewcrew6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 04:40 AM
  #2  
ophirw
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: beit nekofa, ISRAEL
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tuning a pipe

Hi drewcrew6 ,

1st i recommend you read about the expansion chamber & Kadenacy effect that is relevant to 2 stroke engines (Wikipedia is a good place to start)

there is a software that you can input all the info including the engine size: http://www.buildandclick.com/index.html
the problem i found is that all the software design a strait exhaust system for motorbikes as appose to RC cars where you don't have enough room for a strait system & you need to arch it to fit it into the car (just like the tune pipes are) this reduces the efficiency of the system.

on this page you will find all the mathematical theory with detailed explanations: http://microcarproject.tripod.com/ht...gn_softwar.htm

i would really like to hear what you are planning on building or modifying, so please keep me posted.
ophirw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 09:54 AM
  #3  
drewcrew6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , PA
Posts: 166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tuning a pipe

Thanks Ophriw
I will check that out on Wiki. That software looks good but won't be using it enough to pay for it. Probably one time use. The last link looks good to now i just need to figure out what i need to do to make that code snippet run.
All I want to do is make a tuned pipe for a ryobi 30cc engine and see how much more i can get out of this engine.

Thanks
Drewcrew6
drewcrew6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 12:56 PM
  #4  
savagecommander
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: sterling heights, MI
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tuning a pipe

look up java pipe
savagecommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 06:05 PM
  #5  
Mudgy
Senior Member
 
Mudgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 851
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tuning a pipe

Boat guys use this

http://www.modelpowerboat.com/Tuned_Pipe_Designer

Old school theory in here

http://edj.net/2stroke/jennings/2str...rshandbook.pdf
Mudgy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 10:17 PM
  #6  
drewcrew6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , PA
Posts: 166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tuning a pipe

Thanks Mudgy

I came across that before but at the top it says about 8.2-14.3 cm3. So I am assuming it won't work for a 30 cc engine. Is that a bad assumption? Or is there a way to change the engine size that I am missing?

NEVERMIND I started playing with it and what do ya know the engine size changes with input changes. Now I need to get all the timing off my engine.

Thanks
Drewcrew6
drewcrew6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 10:39 PM
  #7  
da mad maori
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 771
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tuning a pipe

from memory the 30cc ryobi engines have rev limiters built into the ign....... if so you might wanna adapt another coil to fit
da mad maori is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service