Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Beginner ARF slope glider

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2003, 08:17 PM
Dunqun-RCU

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner ARF slope glider

Hi, I have a standard servo/receiver set already and I'm looking for a fairly inexpensive ARF slope glider to put them in. There's a really great slope near where I work and I would love to be able to fly at lunchtime. I am told winds there go from 5-40 mph, but I probably wouldn't take it out over 25 at first.

I am a beginner, would love to have ailerons, but would take any advice on what plane to get.

Thanks,
Duncan
Old 08-20-2003, 01:28 AM
nm5s

Default How about these?

I consider myself a beginner, though I've been at that level for quite some time.
I recommend an EPP flying wing like the Zagi IIIC or the Bee. I have the Bee and prefer its no glue assembly. None of that super sticky 3M spray glue. I had my Bee ready in an evening. It has survived 10's of very hard downwind crashes and countless cartwheels and other crashes too numerous to catalogue. The worst damage was a broken receiver crystal ($8). I have replaced the elevons (cheap) and retaped some and this wing flies well. I have hours of slope soaring with it. I really like it. No need for a landing area.....the trees and rocks are OK. I got mine off Ebay. A lighter Zagi THL or other similar planform with other less durable foam will float higher under light conditions, but I'll take the EPP. I've hit the ground so hard that it bounced up to about 10' high AND I just relaunched it!
Old 08-20-2003, 02:25 AM
evlwevl-RCU

Default Id look at one of these if your going aileron