Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1
    SrTelemaster150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY
    Posts
    2,864
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

    I'm building a simple 2C X 4' sailplane for my granddaughter.

    The flightpackΒ*I purchased comes W/3 servos & I am wondering if it would be advantageous to add an aileron channel for aileron/flaperon capabilities.



    If so, shouldΒ*I add ailerons on the dihedral tips of the straight center section. I was thinking of using plastic core flex cable to actuate W/1 servo in the center of the wing.



    I started R/C over 15 years ago, but sailplanes are new to me. Any experienced input would be greatly appreciated.

    Is there a better choice than the aileron/flaperon option?

    Should I leave it as is & keep the servo for a spare?
    Club Saito #785 - FA91S, FA150, FA180, FA180HC/BBC, FA200TI, FA300TTDP: All with CH Ignitions CDI/Glow fuel
    SIG BH #41
    - 1/3 Spacewalker, Rascal 110
    CUB BH #231 - Wings Maker 1/5 J-3 Cub

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Ladson, SC
    Posts
    488
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

    2x4 is a good choice for beginner.  A fellow sailplaner had one and taught himself to build and fly it.  

    I'd leave the 3rd servo at home and concentrate on learning with just two axis control.  If you still need to use it, put spoilers on the topside but now you've entered a complicated redesign of a simple kit.  KISS.

    Good on your grand daughter.   My grand daughters seem interested in the latest cell phones.

    Ray W.
    Fleet Brotherhood #7

  3. #3
    iron eagel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Middleboro, MA
    Posts
    3,087
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

    It's fairly easy to add ailerons to a plane like this. I've done it to several you would want to add them to the outboard portion of the wing. If your using flex cables you will need to use a pull/pull type of setup simply notch the wing to run your cables and epoxy or even tape the guides in place. I have found that it's a lot easier for a beginner to start with a four channel radio rather than learn on a three and switch to a four. On several foam planes I just add a servo in each wing for the ailerons... I would stay away from flaperons they cause tip stalls.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ay75448.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	332.6 KB 
ID:	1749957  

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Little Rock (via London Eng.), AR
    Posts
    206
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

    I agree with Fleet, KISS!! A polyhedral sailplane doesn't need ailerons anyway. Changing from 2/3 channel to four really isn't that hard. Put your rudder control on your right hand stick where ailerons would be controlled. Your elevator is already there, so you are basically flying using one stick only. When you decide to go four channel, you're already using that stick and will only need to get used to the rudder on the left stick on occasion. I say on occasion as you will probably have ailerons and rudder working together anyway. Just my two penneth worth.
    Be an organ and tissue donor. Tell your family your wishes. It\'s your last chance to make a difference.

  5. #5
    Moderator BMatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Chilliwack, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    12,012
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

    Let her fly it in the stock form. If you want to "hotrod" the design build a second wing which has either no or greatly reduced tip dihedral and put the other servo plus ailerons in that wing.

    If you feel that you really MUST put ailerons on the 2x4 then do so by putting them on the outer panels and reduce the tip dihedral angle down to about 1/3 of what it shows on the plan.

    Really though I suspect the design is best flown as it was intended with only two movable surfaces.
    Witty saying to be plagarized shortly.....

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    endicott, NY
    Posts
    28
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

    Triple agree!!!!
    2 channels to start - but if you are putting an electric in it - be able to reduce its effectiveness with radio...

    I have a gentle lady that runs for a really long time at constant altitude with 1300mAh pack - it has been used to teach quite a few people how to fly. It is Rudder, Elevator and Throttle only...


    PS - I HIGHLY suggest electric (although that plane might be a bit small to start) and the gentle lady with simple motor/ESC is hard to beat for pure flying smplicity. No winch or highstart to futz with... Think about it...

    ORIGINAL: kwmtrubrit

    I agree with Fleet, KISS!! A polyhedral sailplane doesn't need ailerons anyway. Changing from 2/3 channel to four really isn't that hard. Put your rudder control on your right hand stick where ailerons would be controlled. Your elevator is already there, so you are basically flying using one stick only. When you decide to go four channel, you're already using that stick and will only need to get used to the rudder on the left stick on occasion. I say on occasion as you will probably have ailerons and rudder working together anyway. Just my two penneth worth.

  7. #7
    SrTelemaster150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY
    Posts
    2,864
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?


    ORIGINAL: LovesToSail

    Triple agree!!!!
    2 channels to start - but if you are putting an electric in it - be able to reduce its effectiveness with radio...

    I have a gentle lady that runs for a really long time at constant altitude with 1300mAh pack - it has been used to teach quite a few people how to fly. It is Rudder, Elevator and Throttle only...


    PS - I HIGHLY suggest electric (although that plane might be a bit small to start) and the gentle lady with simple motor/ESC is hard to beat for pure flying smplicity. No winch or highstart to futz with... Think about it...

    ORIGINAL: kwmtrubrit

    I agree with Fleet, KISS!! A polyhedral sailplane doesn't need ailerons anyway. Changing from 2/3 channel to four really isn't that hard. Put your rudder control on your right hand stick where ailerons would be controlled. Your elevator is already there, so you are basically flying using one stick only. When you decide to go four channel, you're already using that stick and will only need to get used to the rudder on the left stick on occasion. I say on occasion as you will probably have ailerons and rudder working together anyway. Just my two penneth worth.

    I have thougt about onboard power to gain altitude, but would probably opt for a simple COX .049 W/integral fuel tank. (as shown on the plans) No throttle, just run it up to altitude & when the fuel runs out, start gliding.
    Club Saito #785 - FA91S, FA150, FA180, FA180HC/BBC, FA200TI, FA300TTDP: All with CH Ignitions CDI/Glow fuel
    SIG BH #41
    - 1/3 Spacewalker, Rascal 110
    CUB BH #231 - Wings Maker 1/5 J-3 Cub

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    endicott, NY
    Posts
    28
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

    If you have never used electric (current brushless system with LiPo's and chargers, etc) then glow may be for you. However, there is no substitute for the simplicity and quiteness of an electric sailplane - it is a match made in heaven and you can shut the motor off at 4 crashes high instead of 1000 feet and this will help your grandchild see it easier and see thier responses more readily. You just run it at partial throttle so that it stays pretty much at constant altitude. I can run mine for 40min this way.

    I can show you what I used on mine but it would be $100 investment in motor, ESC, batteries and your time. However, you never have to worry about glow battery, the right fuel or cutting your finger on a prop. There is no cleanup with electric.

    I am terribly biased by the way having flown electric for 20 years now. I have even lopped the noses of all of my "true sailplanes" and have never looked back. (OK, I did have some tears when I cut through my Dodgson Windsong nose).

    Scott


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.