RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

Reply
Old 04-14-2012, 05:33 AM
  #1
SrTelemaster150
Thread Starter
 
SrTelemaster150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Posts: 3,536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

I'm building a simple 2C X 4' sailplane for my granddaughter.

The flightpack I purchased comes W/3 servos & I am wondering if it would be advantageous to add an aileron channel for aileron/flaperon capabilities.



If so, should I add ailerons on the dihedral tips of the straight center section. I was thinking of using plastic core flex cable to actuate W/1 servo in the center of the wing.



I started R/C over 15 years ago, but sailplanes are new to me. Any experienced input would be greatly appreciated.

Is there a better choice than the aileron/flaperon option?

Should I leave it as is & keep the servo for a spare?
SrTelemaster150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 05:46 AM
  #2
Fleet
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ladson, SC
Posts: 488
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

2x4 is a good choice for beginner.  A fellow sailplaner had one and taught himself to build and fly it.  

I'd leave the 3rd servo at home and concentrate on learning with just two axis control.  If you still need to use it, put spoilers on the topside but now you've entered a complicated redesign of a simple kit.  KISS.

Good on your grand daughter.   My grand daughters seem interested in the latest cell phones.

Ray W.
Fleet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:31 AM
  #3
iron eagel
 
iron eagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Middleboro, MA
Posts: 3,248
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

It's fairly easy to add ailerons to a plane like this. I've done it to several you would want to add them to the outboard portion of the wing. If your using flex cables you will need to use a pull/pull type of setup simply notch the wing to run your cables and epoxy or even tape the guides in place. I have found that it's a lot easier for a beginner to start with a four channel radio rather than learn on a three and switch to a four. On several foam planes I just add a servo in each wing for the ailerons... I would stay away from flaperons they cause tip stalls.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75448.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	332.6 KB
ID:	1749957  
iron eagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 07:01 AM
  #4
kwmtrubrit
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Little Rock (via London Eng.), AR
Posts: 206
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

I agree with Fleet, KISS!! A polyhedral sailplane doesn't need ailerons anyway. Changing from 2/3 channel to four really isn't that hard. Put your rudder control on your right hand stick where ailerons would be controlled. Your elevator is already there, so you are basically flying using one stick only. When you decide to go four channel, you're already using that stick and will only need to get used to the rudder on the left stick on occasion. I say on occasion as you will probably have ailerons and rudder working together anyway. Just my two penneth worth.
kwmtrubrit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 07:23 PM
  #5
BMatthews
Moderator
 
BMatthews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chilliwack, BC, CANADA
Posts: 12,256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

Let her fly it in the stock form. If you want to "hotrod" the design build a second wing which has either no or greatly reduced tip dihedral and put the other servo plus ailerons in that wing.

If you feel that you really MUST put ailerons on the 2x4 then do so by putting them on the outer panels and reduce the tip dihedral angle down to about 1/3 of what it shows on the plan.

Really though I suspect the design is best flown as it was intended with only two movable surfaces.
BMatthews is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:08 PM
  #6
LovesToSail
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: endicott, NY
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

Triple agree!!!!
2 channels to start - but if you are putting an electric in it - be able to reduce its effectiveness with radio...

I have a gentle lady that runs for a really long time at constant altitude with 1300mAh pack - it has been used to teach quite a few people how to fly. It is Rudder, Elevator and Throttle only...


PS - I HIGHLY suggest electric (although that plane might be a bit small to start) and the gentle lady with simple motor/ESC is hard to beat for pure flying smplicity. No winch or highstart to futz with... Think about it...

Quote:
ORIGINAL: kwmtrubrit

I agree with Fleet, KISS!! A polyhedral sailplane doesn't need ailerons anyway. Changing from 2/3 channel to four really isn't that hard. Put your rudder control on your right hand stick where ailerons would be controlled. Your elevator is already there, so you are basically flying using one stick only. When you decide to go four channel, you're already using that stick and will only need to get used to the rudder on the left stick on occasion. I say on occasion as you will probably have ailerons and rudder working together anyway. Just my two penneth worth.
LovesToSail is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:21 AM
  #7
SrTelemaster150
Thread Starter
 
SrTelemaster150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Posts: 3,536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: LovesToSail

Triple agree!!!!
2 channels to start - but if you are putting an electric in it - be able to reduce its effectiveness with radio...

I have a gentle lady that runs for a really long time at constant altitude with 1300mAh pack - it has been used to teach quite a few people how to fly. It is Rudder, Elevator and Throttle only...


PS - I HIGHLY suggest electric (although that plane might be a bit small to start) and the gentle lady with simple motor/ESC is hard to beat for pure flying smplicity. No winch or highstart to futz with... Think about it...

Quote:
ORIGINAL: kwmtrubrit

I agree with Fleet, KISS!! A polyhedral sailplane doesn't need ailerons anyway. Changing from 2/3 channel to four really isn't that hard. Put your rudder control on your right hand stick where ailerons would be controlled. Your elevator is already there, so you are basically flying using one stick only. When you decide to go four channel, you're already using that stick and will only need to get used to the rudder on the left stick on occasion. I say on occasion as you will probably have ailerons and rudder working together anyway. Just my two penneth worth.

I have thougt about onboard power to gain altitude, but would probably opt for a simple COX .049 W/integral fuel tank. (as shown on the plans) No throttle, just run it up to altitude & when the fuel runs out, start gliding.
SrTelemaster150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:30 PM
  #8
LovesToSail
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: endicott, NY
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Add a Channel to 2-Channel X 4' Sailplane?

If you have never used electric (current brushless system with LiPo's and chargers, etc) then glow may be for you. However, there is no substitute for the simplicity and quiteness of an electric sailplane - it is a match made in heaven and you can shut the motor off at 4 crashes high instead of 1000 feet and this will help your grandchild see it easier and see thier responses more readily. You just run it at partial throttle so that it stays pretty much at constant altitude. I can run mine for 40min this way.

I can show you what I used on mine but it would be $100 investment in motor, ESC, batteries and your time. However, you never have to worry about glow battery, the right fuel or cutting your finger on a prop. There is no cleanup with electric.

I am terribly biased by the way having flown electric for 20 years now. I have even lopped the noses of all of my "true sailplanes" and have never looked back. (OK, I did have some tears when I cut through my Dodgson Windsong nose).

Scott
LovesToSail is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:38 AM.