Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Newbie Q: Iz worthy of purchase?

@all
    I'm looking to invest some dollars (albeit not too many dollars) into a sailplane / powered glider. I'm not intersted in foam and want to keep the cost of the kit around $125-200. I found the ASK21 EP Glider 2600mm Fiberglass on Hobby King and was surprised of the cost relative to its size. I'm an experienced flier and builder but, wasn't sure if anyone had any thoughts on HK sailplane kits.I was also contemplating the Hobby Lobby Super Dimona(http://www.hobby-lobby.com/superdimona.htm). I've got the following sitting around and waiting to be used:

(2) 3200 mAh11.1v 3-cell
    Turnigy 60Abrushless programmable ESC w/BEC
    Turnigy 1450Kv brushless outrunner
    All electronics required (from previous aircraft)

I appreciate the more scale like models but, also am interested in being able to catch thermals (or learn how to). I don't have a tow plane or a cliff, so powered gliders are esential. Also, being able to handle some wind (15-20mph) is essential. Thanks to anyone willing to help, I appreciate it.

_andrew

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Newbie Q: Iz worthy of purchase?

Check these guys out. I think someone there might live close by and be of help.
    http://www.soarcasa.org/
    Rich Border AMA 77727
    Sig Kadet Brotherhood #2

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

The Hobby King glider weighs in with a 17.4 oz/sq ft wing loading if it comes out at the stated 1.6 kgs or 56 oz. The Dimonia is a hair better at 15 oz/sq ft.