Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Hi-Start Components

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2003, 11:19 AM
Christen Eagle 1
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi-Start Components

All you glider flyers sorry for this dumb question. I am a veteran flyer but new to launching gliders with Hi-Starts. I am putting together the components for a home made Hi-Start and I have no idea how you guys are attaching the rubber tubing to your stake end and the nylon line on the other. Are you guys tying knots in your tubing or are there inserts slipped into the tubing and clamped and then using snap swivels on the ends? If anyone can respond with a detail answer or photo, it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks, Jim
Old 09-12-2003, 04:13 PM
jerry dotson

Default RE: Hi-Start Components

Go to the link. It is a drawing of the Hi-Start. Just tie a knot in the tubing to fasten it to the metal rings.

http://www.dynaflite.com/manuals/dyf...addendum-a.pdf
Old 09-12-2003, 04:53 PM
Jack Hyde
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't tie knots in the rubber. I use the largest diameter dowel I have in my dowel pile that will slip inside the rubber 'hose'. I cut a 2" piece, goop it up with Household Goop, slide it in the hose about 1" , then wrap the joint with string. I drill a hole 1/2" from the end of the dowel that sticks out of the rubber and tie a line to the dowel end. I have a couple of histarts that have held together like that for about 5 years.
Old 09-12-2003, 10:14 PM
Rejean Boucher

[img][/img]
(The attachment points viewed are on the anchoring end of the rubber)