Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

First Sailplane Questions

Old 08-04-2014, 04:02 PM
crossman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Sailplane Questions

I have been flying glow, mostly a 40 trainer for a few years, but I have been considering an electric sailplane for awhile and these plans have caught my eye. http://www.modelaviation.com/thermix13
Since I am new to sailplanes, I do have a few questions about the plane. It seems like this would be somewhat over powered with the motor that is listed, am I missing something about sailplanes, or would something around 450watts be enough? is there anything about this plane that would not be good for a first sailplane? I do enjoy building, both kits and from plans, I have also looked at the Great Planes Spirit kit. Any advice is welcome, thanks.
Old 08-04-2014, 07:55 PM
Flytoolow
My Feedback: (17)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

This would be fine for a first electric glider. It has so much power because you want to get up as high as you can and start soaring; also, to help balance out the model. As for its set-up, plug the rudder servo into the aileron spot as it will be easier to fly. Finally, balance it so it is level, with the absolute slightest amount of nose down. It will make it a very docile glider.

Good luck and I look forward to seeing your progress!

P.s. Make sure you have a little bit of washout on the wing tips.
Old 08-05-2014, 08:55 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts