Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Dynaflite Butterfly Power Plant question...

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Dynaflite Butterfly Power Plant question...

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2015, 04:52 PM
kilmerelrc
My Feedback: (8)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dynaflite Butterfly Power Plant question...

Hello,

I have a Butterfly that I started about 1 1/2 years ago which was put on a shelf and now I am ready to finish it. I am at the point of covering the plane and am in a crux about powering it. I am torn between glow power and electric. I have been flying electric for a few years now and do not have any glow field equipment any more (field box, panel, starter, etc) but I like the thought of glow on a fairly large plane.

I would like plenty of power to climb (and get out of trouble if needed) but would like to power down and float around for a while which is why I am thinking electric with a folding prop. In addition, I will be flying (and landing) in a rough pasture field and am considering hand launch with a non-wheels belly landing (I may consider building a skid plate or skid runners on it).

Any thoughts on electric motor, prop and battery? If I went glow, I would probably go .25. What are your thoughts on belly landing.... or should I stick with the landing gear and a little over-sized tire?

I will not be using this plane for any soaring competition, just lazy circles and maybe some training.

Thanks.
Old 01-26-2015, 05:04 PM
thailazer

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts