RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Another Radian question

Reply

Old 05-12-2016, 06:07 AM
  #1  
JMCHASE
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Another Radian question

when can I get one

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	118
Size:	132.2 KB
ID:	2162126   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	120
Size:	160.1 KB
ID:	2162127  
JMCHASE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 03:05 AM
  #2  
porcia83
Banned
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 7,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

HH listed them yesterday on their site, pre-order. Looks great!
porcia83 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 03:52 PM
  #3  
xviper-1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If you haven't found out yet, it's supposed to be July 1 for USA, approx. July 11 for Canada, although Canadians can order online from US vendors (Horizon and MotionRC) but will pay dearly for shipping, brokerage. Buying from a Canadian shop will be about the same as what Horizon is charging in Canadian dollars but no shipping (or free shipping from shops not in your city).
xviper-1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 04:51 PM
  #4  
GlenIronPa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , PA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Are they restarting model? Please say yes....I just lost mine over the forest out back!!!! I've had it for 5-6 years. Just got a new fuselage and wings this year. Had trouble getting the controls dialed in....pluck into the forest it went.

Last edited by GlenIronPa; 07-20-2016 at 04:55 AM.
GlenIronPa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 05:43 PM
  #5  
xviper-1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It is my understanding from reading posts by Horizon reps on other forums, that the XL is on back order and will be available sometime later in August. Horizon is trying to resolve some of the deficiencies of the first batch before re-releasing. You did see the 2 service bulletins for the XL? They involve some re-gluing of some structural bracing. Some planes needed it, some didn't. They hope to ensure that all planes have been properly glued before release.
You may still find some product and parts at hobby shops around the country.
xviper-1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 04:22 AM
  #6  
GlenIronPa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , PA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Holy cow....found it at MotionRc. I didn't realize/notice that one is XL...8.5 ft wing span....that's a little too much for me. I found the base Radian there. I haven't been to these forums in years and didn't know e-flite took over the radian from parkzone or any other planes or even the whole company? Thanks for the info.
GlenIronPa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 06:08 AM
  #7  
xviper-1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by GlenIronPa View Post
Holy cow....found it at MotionRc. I didn't realize/notice that one is XL...8.5 ft wing span....that's a little too much for me. I found the base Radian there. I haven't been to these forums in years and didn't know e-flite took over the radian from parkzone or any other planes or even the whole company? Thanks for the info.
I didn't realize that you were talking about the original, 2.0m Radian. This thread is about the XL. Sorry.
Eflite is taking over many of the Parkzone products. The Eflite Radian still uses Parkzone servos, same motor, same ESC, same prop. The biggest difference is in the wing/fuse attachment. The current 2.0 Radian uses screws to hold the wings on. Hence, the wings and fuse are not interchangeable with the old Parkzone Radian. Additionally, the new Radian wings and fuse are not interchangeable with the Radian Pro. The Pro takes 2 screws per side to attach the wings while the regular Radian takes 1 per side.
As far as I known, the Eflite 2.0 Radian is available and will continue to be available in the foreseeable future. If you really want the original Parkzone Radian, try searching all online stores both USA and Canada. Some hobby shops may have old stock still on the shelf.
xviper-1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 07:54 AM
  #8  
GlenIronPa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: , PA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I lost mine in the forest so E-flite's Radian will do fine.
GlenIronPa is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service