Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Tower Hobbies Vista

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2016, 08:06 AM
Athenas Dad

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tower Hobbies Vista

Hi everyone........I'm new to the forum.
I have 2 questions.
What do you guys think of Tower Hobbies Vista EP ?
Is foam really as strong as companies portray them to be ?
Please share your opinions and comments. I am a beginner, and have little experience. I am going to stay rudder and elevator until I get experience. I will worry about ailerons when I am ready. I am presently learning on a Great Planes Fling 2 meter.
Thanks everyone !
Old 07-25-2016, 03:00 AM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The Vista is a great deal. It comes with a suitable motor, esc, and prop. And it's a great thermal sailplane. And it's just over $100.

It is a 2m which is the size glider where reasonably successful thermal hunting begins. Smaller and you spend more time climbing back up again. Thermal success depends a lot on being able to cover territory looking for lift and smaller ones don't have the range.

As for foam.... some types of it really are hard to destroy, but all of them are limited by size. As they get about 2-2.5meter wingspan, their flexibility gets in the way and they wind up heavier than optimum. and it's easier to snap the fuse or wings. and harder to stay aloft and cover ground hunting lift.
Old 07-25-2016, 03:09 AM
da Rock

You mentioned the Fling. Hand/discus launching won't start your flight at much altitude. You'll get a lot of landing practice, but not many long flights. Thermals don't happen constantly and all over the place, especially within hunting distance of most hand launches.
Old 07-25-2016, 04:43 PM
Athenas Dad